Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 09-29-2004, 02:56 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

my bottom feeders????

i'm a three month old newbie which has a 50 g tank. i have a serpent star which has stayed in the same corner for 6 weeks and does nothing it seems other than adds decor to the tank......and i have a pink spotted goby which is a workhorse when it comes to eating food which drifts to the bottom.

my question is would it be ok to add another goby to my tank? how do they get along? I'm looking to buy a yellow watchmen goby ....TIA

1 regal tang
1 pink spotted goby
40 pds lr
cleaners: 2 cleaner schrimp, 7 blue hermitts
7 scarlett hermitts,2 american star snails
1 brittle serpent star,
20-25 snails
8965 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 09:25 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus

Gonna get a pistol shrimp for your watchman? I do not know about the pink spotted and the watchman together in a 50g, so I can't offer anything there, but doesn't the pink spotted get to 5 inches and move a lot of sand around? If so, I'm wondering if it'll upset the watchman's existence.

If you're not gonna do a shrimp for the watchman, why not try other gobies that won't compete for bottom space in a smaller tank? A pair of neon blues? Or is it more bottom feeders you're looking for?

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2004, 08:50 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict