Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-19-2012, 05:07 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Saltwaterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 98
My new buddies

Got some new fish. After my water has been checked and everything has been going well I decided to get my first set of fish. I went and purchased a flame angle, two captive clownfish, and just to help my algae problem a lawn mower blenny.( he's pretty smart and cool looking) and a piece of coral which I don't remember what it was called. I'll try and post a picture of it up when I get home. Good bunch or not?
__________________

__________________
Saltwaterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 05:09 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Nu-Nu the eel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,455
Im sorry, but why would you add 4 fish at once??????? Bad idea, expect an ammonia spike
__________________

__________________
Nu-Nu the eel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 05:52 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Your supposed to wait like a month between fish.... Unless its a pair. This could be bad ;(
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 06:10 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flreefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,984
I've always gone with one a week, at max. If a pair then I would wait 2 weeks. Especially just starting off.
I agree with the other posters, you could see some ammonia, and possibly lose some fish.
Best of luck, hope you don't suffer any losses.
__________________
Flreefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 06:15 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
If he fishless cycled with ammonia he could have an incredibly strong biofilter. Depending on the size of the tank there could be some agression issues.
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 07:02 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saltwaterman
Got some new fish. After my water has been checked and everything has been going well I decided to get my first set of fish. I went and purchased a flame angle, two captive clownfish, and just to help my algae problem a lawn mower blenny.( he's pretty smart and cool looking) and a piece of coral which I don't remember what it was called. I'll try and post a picture of it up when I get home. Good bunch or not?
Expect losses. Way too fast. Regardless of bio filter your asking for problems. Slow down. Impulse buying gets reefers into the biggest trouble.
__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 07:25 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Newfiereefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 283
I have to agree I haven't added more than one fish at a time to have ever experienced this problem. But there could be issues. If you have lots of LR for hiding it may help the aggression possibly if they can find a place to hide. I would think a ammonia spike is gonna happen , do get extra water ready in case or some Ammo-lock , I keep a small bottle on hand and my tank has been going for over 6 months. I think if you keep and eye on you water and be ready for a emergency water change if need you may survive this with just a lesson learned .... And that should be
" Nothing good ever happens fast in a marine aquarium "
hope this helps .
__________________
Newfiereefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 07:51 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Saltwaterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 98
This tank has been running for about 6-7 months with just some hermit crabs and one cleaner shrimp. 72 gallons with and emperor 240 filter and a filstar XP3 canister filter along with a protein skimmer. I have do e this before and no losses. Why would this cause a huge spike of ammonia? I have hiding places. (70 lbs of live rock so far)
__________________
Saltwaterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 08:01 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flreefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,984
Because all these new introductions create more waste, that your BB is not used to handling. When the BB can't handle the waste the ammonia builds up.
__________________
Flreefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 08:09 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Exactly. It doesn't matter how old the tank is, it matters how much bacteria is in it. You have to give it time to catch up. It's used to filtering the couple of inverts, then right to many fish. They will not be able to catch up fast enough, resulting in ammonia and probably death.
__________________

__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
die

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.