Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-09-2003, 09:15 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 391
My skimmer broke, and guess what?

Four days ago my skimmer was making an awful noise in the motor. My tank has only been set up for several months! It was late at night so I unplugged it. Now it ill not work at all. I still have the warranty, so I will be sending it back this week. (It was a red sea prizm, and did an awesome job!) Now, I have noticed a little cyano on my sand. eeekkk!My tank parameters are: ph=8, dkh= 11, calc=400, nitrate =5. I do not have a phosphate test but have never added anything but RO water. I use tropic marin salt.

I know to cut back my feedings, What about half? I only feed them once a day. Should I cut back my lighting? I have a crocea clam, a bubble coral,an open brain and some mushrooms. My corrent lighting schedule is 7 hours of actinics, four of halides. Would my clam do okay if I cut this?

I have not siphoned it because I have very fine sand and it is only in the sand bed. I have a lot of coralline on my rocks, so I have not noticed it there yet. I have just been stirring the sand bed to get rid of it.

Any other ideas until I get my new skimmer
__________________

__________________
"So God created the great creatures of the sea and every living and moving thing with which the water teems...And God saw that it was good" Gen1:21
bizzybeas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2003, 09:49 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Phosphate can enter via the food we feed aswell. Its possible the amount of DOC's that your skimmer usualy removes is now not being removed so thats where the cyano is probably comming from. If you do a water change and cut back on the feedings until the skimmer can get working again it should help.
__________________

__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2003, 10:17 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
Did you check the skimmer impeller for trash and/or obstructions?
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2003, 10:59 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 391
I am not very mechanical, I will try to check it tonight. I usually do about a 10% water change a week, should I do more?
__________________
"So God created the great creatures of the sea and every living and moving thing with which the water teems...And God saw that it was good" Gen1:21
bizzybeas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2003, 11:25 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Danville, Indiana
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to brndfrb
Yeah i have noticed a little cyno in my tank latley too. I have a skimmer and everything. How do you get rid of it. I heard it can take over your whole tank. don't want that to happen
__________________
brndfrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2003, 02:56 PM   #6
cj10488
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
wow I had a bit of cyano on my sand bed and when the lights got changed to the new MH all of it lifted up nicely away from the sand and was able to get sucked up real easy.. My old lights were the cause of my cyano.. Turkey Basters come in real handy

JAmes
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2003, 11:14 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 391
I have been using a turkey baster, it is working wonderfully. I am getting the skimmer fixed and will be getting it back in a couple of days. I am lucky that I have good coraline growth, there is none on my rocks. My fish are wondering why they are not getting as much food.
__________________

__________________
"So God created the great creatures of the sea and every living and moving thing with which the water teems...And God saw that it was good" Gen1:21
bizzybeas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
skimmer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heater broke??? newfishhobbyist Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 18 05-25-2009 07:13 PM
My protein skimmer broke 2 days ago... DurTBear Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 03-12-2007 12:23 PM
broke down and did it morgan24 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 02-21-2006 08:41 PM
Maybe our filter broke? djmpj2 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 12 03-19-2005 06:02 PM
Fight Broke Out!!! firerescue2002 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 23 03-23-2004 01:37 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.