Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 10-06-2003, 09:20 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

My Snails Are All Comatose

Hi all, I've been reading these forums for a bit and there's a lot of good knowledge here!

I've been doin' reefs for several years but I got out of it 3 years ago. Now I'm back. I'm no expert but I'm no beginner either... but, here's the thing:

I have a 40 gallon tank which finished it's cycle 5 days ago

(0 amm, 0 Nitrite, 5 Nitrate, 8.0 PH-a little low, I know-, and salinity is 1.024, 79 degrees)

There are 2 Chromis damsels doing VERY well that have been in residence since the Nitrite got to zero.

I've got the lovely brown carpet bloom of algae goin' so I went out and got my workers... 7 left hand hermits, and 15 Turbo's (****ed LFS slipped 3 Astreas into my turbo's, but I'm not worried about that really).

I've never had trouble with snails/crabs etc EVER in the past but these snails have all descended into comatose mode. I acclimated them of course. In a matter of maybe 10 minutes they all stopped moving and haven't moved in 24 hours. I've checkd a few and they're alive, just REALLY disinterested, hehehe. I don't mean to make light of it, it's making me crazy and I'm worried that these snails are suffering (in their own snail way). I just can't get my finger on what might cause this!

Did i not acclimate long enough? I've recently heard lots of people saying snails are sensitive to this, I always did a standard fish acclimation job with them in the past with no worries...

The crabs are doing quite nicely BTW...

Any ideas, suggestions??? ... ...

P

Old 10-06-2003, 09:33 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus

Quote:
Did i not acclimate long enough?
This would be my guess, snails are very sensitive to changes in salinity, ph and temp.