My Snails Are All Comatose

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Porksound

Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Hi all, I've been reading these forums for a bit and there's a lot of good knowledge here!

I've been doin' reefs for several years but I got out of it 3 years ago. Now I'm back. I'm no expert but I'm no beginner either... but, here's the thing:

I have a 40 gallon tank which finished it's cycle 5 days ago

(0 amm, 0 Nitrite, 5 Nitrate, 8.0 PH-a little low, I know-, and salinity is 1.024, 79 degrees)

There are 2 Chromis damsels doing VERY well that have been in residence since the Nitrite got to zero.

I've got the lovely brown carpet bloom of algae goin' so I went out and got my workers... 7 left hand hermits, and 15 Turbo's (damned LFS slipped 3 Astreas into my turbo's, but I'm not worried about that really).

I've never had trouble with snails/crabs etc EVER in the past but these snails have all descended into comatose mode. I acclimated them of course. In a matter of maybe 10 minutes they all stopped moving and haven't moved in 24 hours. I've checkd a few and they're alive, just REALLY disinterested, hehehe. I don't mean to make light of it, it's making me crazy and I'm worried that these snails are suffering (in their own snail way). I just can't get my finger on what might cause this!

Did i not acclimate long enough? I've recently heard lots of people saying snails are sensitive to this, I always did a standard fish acclimation job with them in the past with no worries...

The crabs are doing quite nicely BTW...

Any ideas, suggestions??? ... ...

P

Cheers, thanks for the quick reply... so what now? Will they get it together or have I stupidly mangaged to kill a pack of snails?

Common sense tells me I should not reomve them at this point, since that's jut going to be a greater shock... Am I right about that?

p