Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-23-2012, 01:25 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Need Advice ASAP!!

So I just came across what I believe to be a beyond killer deal. I found an Oceanic Biocube (8 gallon) for only $30. I have no experience with saltwater but have been throwing around the idea of doing a reef tank for quite some time. I still have lots of research today before I am actually ready but this deal is so good I can clean it up and store it in a closet for a couple of months until I am ready. If I get it once I decide to make the dive I plan to use it as a coral only tank with no fish or inverts (since it is so small). Does anyone know exactly how much water this thing holds? I have heard a lot of you talking about how the 29 is not exactly 29 gallons. Thanks so much for your help and advice you all. Let me know your thoughts soon!!

Old 01-23-2012, 01:39 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak

I wouldnt buy it, $30 you can get a much larger tank. Add like $30 more dollars you can find yourself a good 70+ gallon tank on craigslist.

Don't do it! also might want to mention harder tanks are harder to keep water stable

Old 01-23-2012, 01:41 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Size is a limiting factor though as I already have a planted 40 breeder, 36 bowfront, and just ordered the light for a 10 gallon planted for my bedroom.
Old 01-23-2012, 01:58 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

To determine volume, you need to know the exact dimensions.