Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-21-2004, 04:17 PM   #1
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Need help with MH upgrade

I finally received my ballast and bulb from pro_builder today, I switched the ballasts and capaciter in my CSL prism pendant wired it all up, switched bulbs, plug it in and it strarts (appears to be a pulse start ballast). The bulb fires, acheives it's full brightness (I assume) and then it the bulb starts to make a high pitched whine increasing in volume until the bulb flashes out. I can unplug the ballast for 5 minutes plug it back in and the process repeats itself, or I can leave it plugged in and it strats all over again. Is it the bulb?? The noise is definately coming from the bulb. I've got another 250W bulb that's been sitting here waiting, as soon as it cools I'm gonna put it in and see what happens. The bulb and ballast were sold to me as an upgrade retro, so I would think they should work together.
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2004, 04:24 PM   #2
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
Posts: 1,783
What kind of Ballast an bulb? The feqency that theballst fires the bulb on my be screwed up.
__________________

__________________
captivereefs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2004, 04:25 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
i thought ive read that there are certain bulbs for pulse and probe starting ballests !! like to follow this thread though i know on the ballest i got
http://oceanencounter.com/Merchant2/...ory_Code=EVCEB
my bulb wouldnt fire with the 3rd ground hooked up but without it fired fine !!
__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2004, 04:31 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Never mind, I am always amazed when I don't blow myself up doing a DIY project, this one is no exception, goofed on the wiring!!
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2004, 04:35 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
heheh me as well i shock my self more times than i could count doing things with wet hands or not thinking being in a hurry !!
__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2004, 04:50 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
You wopuld be amazed at how white a 20K bulb will get when it's wired wrong.

The ballast has 4 wires, the capaciter has two. Two of the wires on the ballast are for the power cord, two are for running the bulb. One wire from the ballast is hooked to the capaciter and one straight to the mogul socket. I had each wire from the ballast hooked to one of the capciter wires and then had both of those hooked to the mogul socket. This is why god invented electricians, to keep idiots like me from frying themselves.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2004, 04:56 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
heheheh yea at $150 an hour electrician right !! only two wires going from the ballast to the bulb huh??? no 3rd ground?? humm ive been worried somewhat as to why i have 3 and was told to hook the 3rd (green) wire to the reflector but like i said when i do it dont fire!! but i feel a shock coming at sometime cause i know it there for a reason !! was thinking of getting another power cord and just hooking it to the ground wire to be safe !! but then i lose another plug :-(
__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2004, 05:03 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
No, there is no ground wire from the ballast, there is a ground wire from the powercord and I conneted a ground wire from the powercord to the ballast casing to the mogul socket. The prism pendant has a ground built into the socket and the socket wiring is removable (it plugs into the ballast casing) so it was pretty easy to do, I just grounded it the same way it was grounded when it was a 175 MH. Now it's a 250 prism pendant.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2004, 05:09 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
ok i follow you but one more question !! what if your pendant fell into the water ?? what would ground it ?? i guess i thought thats why mine came with the 3rd wire from my ballast to the mogul socket to keep from getting lit up cause the power cord has 3 wires but the pendant doesnt so your loosing one somewhere !!
i guess i might need an expert to help figure out if i really need this extra ground is my point !!
__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2004, 05:24 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
I honestly don't know. My pendant is grounded, my powercord is grounded, my ballast is no, cause it doesn't have a ground wire. Neither did the 175W MH ballast.
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
upgrade

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for an UPGRADE! Tank2379 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 12 11-23-2008 08:02 PM
how do i upgrade from a 5.5 to a MafiaMan General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 11-28-2005 12:26 PM
Looking for an upgrade... aquarist15 Archive 6 11-07-2005 04:40 PM
30 upgrade ?? flame82 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 08-24-2005 08:27 PM
When to upgrade? unicorn2tears Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 02-15-2005 08:46 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.