Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-24-2004, 04:32 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
Need Sump Spelled Out!

I want to put a sump under my 75g tank. The problem is that I dont know how or what to do. I have read about sumps, but I need it spelled out in detail exactly how to set one up. I know it will take you some time, but I will give out all my Kudos until there gone.

1. Why a Sump?

2. Difference in a sump and refugem?

3. I have a 30g, a 20g, a 10g, and a wetdry filter box that I can use, what should I use?

4. What equipment will I need?

5. Do I need a substrate and plants in it?

My tank is drilled, and I do have an over flow.

6. Explain in detail how to set it up. Pretend you are talking to a 5 grader.

Thank You so much!!!!!!!
__________________

__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2004, 04:47 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
Quote:
1. Why a Sump?
a) More water volume, makes temp and chemistry more stable.
b) gives you an out-of-the-way place for "unsightly equipment" such as heaters, skimmers, kalk drip lines, float switches for auto-top-off etc.
c) did i mention more water volume?
Quote:
2. Difference in a sump and refugem?
sump = place for equipment
fuge = place for equipment & additional sand, macro algae, LR etc for additional bio filtration/nutrient export. A lot of folks will set up a fuge and fill it with macro algae and leave the lights over the fuge on 24/7 for maximum nutrient export (keeps bad algae out of your display tank)
Quote:
3. I have a 30g, a 20g, a 10g, and a wetdry filter box that I can use, what should I use?
yes. I'd go with the 30. Why, cause it's the biggest one you have. (as long as it will fit where you want to put it. Under the stand?)
Quote:
4. What equipment will I need?
My tank is drilled, and I do have an over flow.
you have an overflow like a HOB overflow, or your tank has a built in overflow? You'll need tubing, and a pump that can handle pushing enough water up from the bottom of where the sump will be, to the top of your display tank (this is refered to as "Head Height") There is a great chart that lists magdrive pumps with the relative GPH/head height. its a good reference. do a google for it, should be easy to find.
Quote:
5. Explain in detail how to set it up. Pretend you are talking to a 5 grader.
abbriged instructions (you'll get more details with more questions )
- Put the sump where you want it.
- Hook whatever tubing/plumbing you're going to use up to your overflow and run that to your sump.
- Set up your pump (good to use a pre-filter sponge) in the sump and run your plumbing for that back up to your tank. (you have options on how you return it, you can use a single pipe opening, a spray bar, etc. Decide that before you buy your pump. Depending on how you want to return the water may affect the strength of the pump you'll need)
- Fill the sump with new saltwater as if you were doing a water change. (including temp)
- Once the water is aged a day or so and up to temperature and matching your tanks sg, you're ready to turn your pump on NOTE I say this because you said your tank is drilled. because it's drilled you shouldn't have to set up anything that requires a syphon, so the water should simply flow through the overflow and down into your sump.

Once you're sump is up and running, you can move any equip that is in your display thank that you don't want to see anymore and put it in the sump, such as heaters, skimmers etc.

(and don't worry about the kudos... happy to help)
__________________

__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2004, 04:55 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,134
My suggestion for the container is a rubber maid. Not just because they are easy to come by and cheap, but also because you can drill them and install bulkheads in about 10 min. That really helps in keeping everything neat and undercontroll.

Rubbermaid for sump- 15.00
3 bulkheads------------24.00
overflow box-----------80.00
Return pump-----------110.00

Knowing you did it yourself....PRICELESS!
__________________
http://www.reef-aquarium.net

175gallon reef

5,100 gal pond

Fish are people too!
SquishyFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2004, 05:02 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
also ive heard that smaller cheaper tanks can leak due to the pump vibrating in it !! not sure how often this can or will happen but just a thought!! id mabe put a rubber pad or something under it to be safe

great explanation by the way biilz
__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2004, 05:11 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
Since I have a built in overflow I will not need the overflow box right?

Thanks everyone for the help, kudos to all!

Should I put a substrate and macro algae in it?

Is ther anything bad to having a sump?

What is a bulkhead?

If I decide rubbermaid, what size?
__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2004, 05:25 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,012
A bulkhead is basicly a wall. A bulkhead fitting is used to allow pipe or tubing to pass thru the wall. Drill a hole in the wall, install the bulkhead fitting and plum from there.
__________________
75 gal
4x65w PC
AquaC Remora Pro
140#s Live Rock from LiveRocks.com
Frogspawn, Hammer, Zoos, Leather Frag, and Xenia and Green Star Polyp frags from fishfreek and Alarmguy66, Thanks!
Member of the Unofficial A-Team
bound_for_obx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2004, 05:27 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 329
You won't need an overflow box if you have one built in.

Here is a pic of a bulk head. it allows you to connect your plumbing to the tank and sump.
http://www.marinedepot.com/aquarium_...tings_2.asp#bh

the only minor bad thins about a sump is (some noise) and a small chance that you can flood if your don't take the proper precautions. i.e not putting a check valve on your return. but if there is enough room in your sump for return water you should be fine.

as for the rubber maid I would say as big as you can get. I know people that use 100 gal. but if you are going under the tank I would look for somthing to just hold all of your stuff and still give you room for upgrades i.e fuge.

That's my problem right no; my sump is too big and I have no room for a fuge.
but my sump made a huge difference in my tank.
__________________
CBRGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2004, 05:31 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,012
CBRGuy, could you place a smaller tank inside your sump and use it as a fuge? ie: a ten gallon tank inside a rubbermade tub. Use a powerhead to pump water into the tank and just let it overflow however it wants...
Just an idea
__________________
75 gal
4x65w PC
AquaC Remora Pro
140#s Live Rock from LiveRocks.com
Frogspawn, Hammer, Zoos, Leather Frag, and Xenia and Green Star Polyp frags from fishfreek and Alarmguy66, Thanks!
Member of the Unofficial A-Team
bound_for_obx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2004, 05:32 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
Here is a pic of some parts I have. Can I use any of them for my sump?


http://www.aquariumadvice.com/download.php?id=6662
__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2004, 05:33 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,134
http://www.reef-aquarium.net/resourc...ment/sump.html

excellent article that we have posted on our site. I'd suggest checking it out.

Squishy
__________________

__________________
http://www.reef-aquarium.net

175gallon reef

5,100 gal pond

Fish are people too!
SquishyFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
led, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lost my tank, but back at it now! sump or no sump lower11 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 07-10-2007 03:35 PM
Pro Clear Sump - How to put heater in sump & Questions.. TheChad Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 04-14-2006 07:39 PM
adding another sump onto my original sump bingbat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 01-15-2005 01:00 AM
name spelled wrong Lady Elizabeth Forum Admin & Announcements 2 10-22-2004 06:08 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.