Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-26-2004, 03:29 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 86
Need to move my tank

I have to move my 55gal reef tank from my Family room to my Living room. I was going to use the following method.

1. Move livestock to 10Gal QT Tank.
2. Move remaining water/rocks to 5gal buckets.
3. Remove tank.
4. Relocate stand.
5. Replace tank, water livestock.

I was going to leave the substrate in the tank. There will be a considerable disturbance to the substrate. What will this effect?

I will have four people that are going to help with the move. I expect this whole operation will take several hours.

Any advice would be most helpful.

Van
__________________

__________________
cybercron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2004, 03:51 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,134
I would think you could move a 55 in an hour to an hour and a half. 3 big rubber maid tubs. Fish in one, rock in one, coral in one.

If you have more than an inch or so of sand, take it out. Easiest way is to just use a clean (new) dust pan. Then reverse the process. I have unfortunately had to move my tank 3 times in the last 2 years. Its not hard.

Squishy
__________________

__________________
http://www.reef-aquarium.net

175gallon reef

5,100 gal pond

Fish are people too!
SquishyFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2004, 04:11 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 86
Would now be a good time to switch from CC to DSB?

Van
__________________
cybercron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2004, 04:52 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: TX
Posts: 91
I also believe you can move your 55 in a few hours, especially if you have four people to help. when my husband and i moved our 55 if took a few hours. and we had a similar plan, livestock, corals, rocks, and sand all into buckets. we saved a couple of buckets of water, and just mixed up a new batch. sounds like you have a solid plan!
good luck,
Mermaid
__________________
one fish, two fish, red fish, blue fish- Dr. Seuss
Mermaid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2004, 05:16 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Quote:
If you have more than an inch or so of sand, take it out. Easiest way is to just use a clean (new) dust pan
That has never even occurred to me and I can't tell you how many times I've had to move sand!!!!

50 kudos
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2004, 05:45 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 6
I would replace the CC with a DSB or a SSB. You may want to use say half cc/half sand.
__________________
shellym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2004, 05:47 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: So Cal
Posts: 412
or just all sand, half cc is gunna have the same effects as all cc. but yes this would be a great time to change it out.
__________________
BBReef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2004, 09:51 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 86
Changing Substrate Plan

I am going to use 1/2 inch CC, plastic mesh, 2 1/2 inches sand, plastic mesh and a final 1/2 inch layer of sand. This will hopefully make a plenum of sorts. The mesh will also keep my Gobies from digging.

Does this sound like a solid plan?

I am going to create a new post for this question.

Van
__________________
cybercron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2004, 03:02 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,134
Dont forget to heat the water! It cools down quickly!


Thanks RR!
__________________

__________________
http://www.reef-aquarium.net

175gallon reef

5,100 gal pond

Fish are people too!
SquishyFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
move, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to move a tank alicappello Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 4 06-26-2006 04:21 AM
How To Move Eggs From Tank Sides to Breeding Tank? DarylF2 Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding 8 06-23-2006 01:13 AM
Need to replace tank/choose tank and move inhabitants. HELP sherry Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 10-28-2005 11:11 AM
FO tank, can I move around my LR? AndrewD Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 06-08-2005 06:44 PM
BEST WAY TO MOVE A TANK KMyers18 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 04-03-2005 10:47 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.