Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-01-2011, 11:38 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
trackfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 344
Never cycled tank

Would it be possible to keep a FO tank that has never cycled. Here's the thought: I add fish and water at the same time. (RO/DI, treated water of course.) I check the ammonia level and do a PWC as soon as I detect any. Is that a possible scenario? It would mean zero nitrites and nitrates also right? (This just hypothetical; I'm bored and waiting for the killer storm to hit the Midwest.)
__________________

__________________
trackfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 11:51 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
It would cycle, although slowly. You'd always have some level of ammonia/nitrites, even if a test kit didn't show it, until the bacteria population caught up to the bioload.
__________________

__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 12:05 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Deep Seven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Van. Isl., BC Canada
Posts: 1,854
Thats a lot of work, and a lot of PWC. Hypothetically it's possible, but I think it might be easier to build a time machine, travel to the future, and come back with a robot to look after your tank for you.

Seriously though, thats a lot of work doing water changes, and a lot of salt down the drain. Depending how many fish you have, the tank may eventually cycle from the bacteria growing on the glass and substrate, so if you really wanted a tank that "never cycled" you'd have to clean it out every once in a while to get rid of the cycling bacteria.

I love hypothetical questions. They can be fun to ponder .
__________________
"The important thing is not to stop questioning. Curiosity has its own reason for existing" A. Einstein
"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing."
"We can do anything we want to if we stick to it long enough." Helen Keller
Deep Seven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 12:06 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Lawngnome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 121
All this would mean is that you did your cycle with fish. The tank will cycle on its own naturally.
__________________
~Josh
Lawngnome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 12:29 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dary421's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: San Diego,ca
Posts: 2,816
Boy that would sure take a lot of RODI water to do,.....you tapped into walmart's RODI water machine didn't you?
__________________
Dary421 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 01:30 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
trackfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 344
I was thinking of how to do it w/o exposing the fish to high ammonia levels. Yes, it would be a lot of waste of salt, water and time. Although, I do like the idea of a time machine. I think there's an uranium machine right next to the RODI water machine at Walmart.
__________________
trackfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 11:56 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,020
Send a message via Yahoo to jcarlilesiu
You will never be able to take out all of the ammonia, and as such the tank will still cycle. Albeit slowly.

You might manage to drag a cycle out to many months!
jcarlilesiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 02:39 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
trackfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 344
The scenario was not intended to have an uncycled tank. What I was thinking is if you suddenly acquired a fish that was incompatible with your tank, could you hold it in a new tank w/o subjecting the fish to a lot of ammonia. I guess one could hold it in a refugium but what if that wasn't an option.
__________________

__________________
trackfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, cycled, led, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I know when my tank is cycled? TonyMontana Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 01-24-2011 12:20 AM
Tank Cycled...Pictures tank & new occupants. @rtemis Show Off/Photography 2 03-15-2008 09:23 PM
Is my tank ever going to be cycled? jarnism Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 16 07-27-2006 12:47 PM
Has my tank cycled... AndrewD Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 01-24-2005 06:47 PM
Is my tank cycled? mrcowboy Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 11-27-2004 03:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.