New 110gal tank - need some advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

istrompf

Aquarium Advice Newbie
i am new to the hobby and wanted to get some good advice. i have been doing lots and lots of reading to learn as much as i can. it seems that the FOWLR is fairly popular and thats what i want to try to setup.

anyway, here is what i already have:
110gal tank w/ overflow
40gal sump
euro reef cs6-2+
mag drive 18
heater
lighting - 2 65w 10,000k and 2 65w atinic 03 blue

i want to build my own sump with the 40gal feeder tank. a section of rock rubble then skimmer then return pump and then maybe a refugium.
will i need any other filtration?
is the refugium a good idea?
is the mag drive 18 too powerful (it has to overcome 5' of elevation)

as for live sand and rock - 3" of live sand and 100 to 150lbs of live rock about right?

with the live rock, will i be limited in the types of fish that are acceptable?

i want to make my own salt water as well. and brand of salt you guys recommend?

any addatives that i should have? which brands make a good product?

as far as test kits, what must i test for? which brands make a good product?

am i on the right track. any other words of advice? i like to do things right the first time if possible.

btw, what exaclty is the difference between FOWLR and Reef Tank?

thanks in advance

The suggested sump configuration is: Skimmer/LR rubble (if at all) -> Fuge -> Return.

Check out this site for some ideas: http://www.melevsreef.com/allmysumps.html

The Mag18 should be ok, assuming your overflow can handle it.

You don't nessecerily need live sand to start (and don't buy "live sand in a bag" - its not very live). Your sand can be seeded from your LR. Your LR amount looks just fine.