Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-30-2012, 06:19 AM   #421
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Phoenix, Az.
Posts: 1,251
Was thinking about Bio pellets and running them on my system. Has anyone used them before BRS has a good deal on the reactor for 75.99 with a pack of pellets. But I want to know how good they work before I get that system
__________________

__________________
rob_mango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 02:33 PM   #422
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KAhner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 339
Go to you tube and look up lafishguy. He kinda sux. But a couple months ago he did this interview with this guy about biopellets that was really good. From what he was saying the only downfall he's seen with them is they work too efficiently some times. If your running a tank with a lot of softies it could make your tank crash by completely stripping your rank of nitrates and phosphates. Check it out. It really sold me on them. I'll look it up and see what the name of the video was, but it was a two part video and one of the pics was a reactor and the other was a face pic of a bigger guy with a beard.
__________________

__________________
KAhner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 02:36 PM   #423
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KAhner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 339
La fishguy, bio pellets, episode 107..... There is two parts to the video..... Oh and I was asking the owner of my lfs about them and he said he does maintenance on a big tank that doesn't get many water changes. And the guy had consistent nitrates of over 50. They started running bio pellets and he's down below 10 after a couple months.
__________________
KAhner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 09:49 PM   #424
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Phoenix, Az.
Posts: 1,251
With biopellets I here you will have a algae out brake first and reading will go off the charts has this happens to you
__________________
rob_mango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 10:28 PM   #425
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KAhner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 339
I haven't ran them yet. Hopefully I'll order mine next Friday. What reading go off the charts? I'm assuming the algea outbreak is from the nutrient "film" it releases. Did you watch that video I recommend? He has his basically running directly into the skimmer and he said it makes it go nutz.
__________________
KAhner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 10:36 PM   #426
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Phoenix, Az.
Posts: 1,251
It said no3 po4 will go crazy and then start to drop after that it also said that you will need to feed heavy so your soft corals can get there food.... I did watch the video and it was very informing and I have heard that you should run it to your Skimmer aswell to pull everything out
__________________
rob_mango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 11:21 PM   #427
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KAhner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 339
Wasn't that crazy how much he was feeding that size tank. That's gotta be like 5-10 dollars a day. Crazy.
__________________
KAhner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 11:36 PM   #428
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Phoenix, Az.
Posts: 1,251
That is what I read online that you need to feed heavy. Also I was wondering is if I run Bio pellets do I need macro in my refuge cuz the Bio pellets take care of all the stuff the macro uses
__________________
rob_mango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 12:37 AM   #429
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KAhner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 339
I would think that u wouldn't need to, but would probably still be able to. Pods like to hang out in macro. So it would still be nice to have the biodiversity.
__________________
KAhner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 12:56 AM   #430
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Phoenix, Az.
Posts: 1,251
Yeah but I wonder if it would live cuz that is its food.
__________________

__________________
rob_mango is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
5 gallon, 55 gallon, build, reef, reef build

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Forty Gallon Breeder Build bruinsbro1997 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 957 04-08-2012 09:10 PM
75 Gallon Planted build w/sump Sparky74 DIY Projects 20 11-11-2011 01:51 PM
75 gallon planted build thread fishfanatic Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 230 10-04-2011 01:05 AM
Marineland Reef or Double-Bright LED for 50 gallon? Gnarls Gnarlington General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 06-29-2011 12:15 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.