New baby mandarin!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Abiroad

Aquarium Advice Activist
We just got the most precious tiny baby mandarin at the LFS.
She was so skinny, it was pretty much a rescue situation i couldn't leave her there.

I'm no expert but I figured I had more of a chance of saving her then the LFS seeing as they had her in a tank with no substrate and were feeding her roe which she ignored.

My pods are plentiful, and i know this is a risk but i had to try. While i was drip acclimating her i threw in a few frozen brine, not expecting ANYTHING and she munched them instantly. so i fed her more and she hovered over a pile of them and devoured them. she also ate out of the feeding baster later that evening in my tank.

She was covered in sand this morning from hunting in my macro algae in the tank.

She seems adjusted.

Does anyone have any tips or their own experience with mandarins?

Attachments

• photo.jpg
    photo.jpg
    213.6 KB · Views: 230
Very cute :) Poor little guy. That's awesome that she ate. A tip would be to spread the food on the rocks so they can hunt all over instead of just picking from a cup or wherever. I do that for mine..not sure if she actually picks at the frozen food, but worth a try. Also, if you see a mandarin at night (sleeping), don't freak out...they look like zombies, but they're still alive. Really cool camouflage.

Thanks! She is a little under an inch big she is so presh.

I know brine is not very nutritious. But i feel like if shes taking any prep'd food that is a good sign.

What does everyone else feed? Whole tank included, I'd like to stop feeding my whole tank brine as often as i do.