New coral

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Cb24

Aquarium Advice Freak
I'm new to corals and was just wondering how long it takes for corals to open? I have Kenya tree coral

What kind of lights do you have? Kenya's are kinda low light corals and they tend to take a few days to open if everything in your tank is in check...

I have t5 metal halides. Also it came with a plug on it. Where should I place it? In the sand with the plug on? Or should I put it on a rock?

If you have good parameter it will open soon and grow everywhere in you tank

So it's fine if I leave it in the sand? And how long till I see growth?

Would t5 metal halides be sufficient for the Kenya coral tree?

You have t-5 and metal halides? Or are the t-5 actinic? Should be fine or Kenya tree. It won't grow overnight, just be patient ;)

The t5 are actinic and two t5 HO fluorescent daylights but I know I'm just making sure I realize if still alive after a couple days. When should I start to see growth? I just wanna make sure I'm on par with growth rate

I don't have a Kenya tree but I would say post pics daily and get some responses if you are worried. A lot of corals can take a few days to open up and get accustomed to their new environment. Just to save confusion, it is just the t-5 you have, not metal halides, they are a different type of light altogether...

Oh my bad about the lights but is the t5 fine for soft coral? I was told they were just seeing what you think

Yup, they should be fine. So you got 2 x white an 2 x actinic yeah? What wattage are they? I used to have the same ones over my 55g only reason I changed was the replacement bulbs thingy :)