Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-14-2007, 04:03 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic

New LED Lights comparable to MH

Besides the astronomical price, does anyone have any experience or knowledge of the new LED lights that are available-how effective they are? I can see them paying off in the long run with less bulb changes, less electricity, less headaches from MH lights heating the water, etc.

Does anyone actually have one of these yet?

Old 05-14-2007, 04:32 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Do you have a link that compares the PAR/intensity of LED's and MH? It's hard to believe they could provide the same PAR.? FWIW a writer for a popular hobby magazine uses them to keep moderate light coral under, I have no direct experience w/ them though.

Old 05-14-2007, 04:39 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus

Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Those lights pop up from time to time. Interesting idea if they were more const effective. I guess they could be cost effective, since the LEDs would outlast the lighting we use. I think they can run for something like 10 years. It's been a while since that topic has come up so I am a little fuzzy on the details.

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2007, 05:09 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus

Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Advanced Aquarist has a good review including PAR results.

Considering that the LED unit emits very little heat, cheaper to run, no UV output, has dimming capability being able to be adjusted from 6.5K to 22K, and the lifespan of the bulbs it's worth the money in the long run.