Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-26-2004, 07:20 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: montreal, canada
Posts: 58
new qt

I would like to know how to set up a qt, should it have substrate? should it have live rock? should it have shrimp or crabs? I want to keep it running permanately, thanks. I'm new to the hobby.
__________________

__________________
barracuda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 08:17 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Normal, IL
Posts: 1,397
Send a message via AIM to xxmoorishmanxx
no it shouldn't have liverock or any inverts of any kind if you plan to use the tank to treat with copper based treatments which kills inverts. substrate is up to you i wouldn't easier to clean.
__________________

__________________
xxmoorishmanxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 08:32 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 414
I would not use a substrate either. I use pieces of PVC pipe in mine to give the fish a place to hide/feel secure. I do not leave mine running when not being used as a QT though. Hope this helps
__________________
Toby
tmcpeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 10:49 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: montreal, canada
Posts: 58
qt

Thanks guys, but I'm wondering how you can put a fish in a qt when the tank is not cycled? that's why I wanted to leave the qt running all the time!
__________________
barracuda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 11:20 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Austin Mn
Posts: 482
Send a message via MSN to Dewey
Read this. http://www.aquariumadvice.com/showqu...q=2&fldAuto=17


Good luck Dewey
__________________
Thanks Dewey
Dewey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2004, 11:56 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: montreal, canada
Posts: 58
One last question, for now, I am starting a new tank, should I put the new fish into the new tank after it has cycled or should I put them into a qt? right now I have nothing but sand and live rock in the tank..except for 2 shrimp to get the cycle going. thanks to all for the help, it is greatly appreciated!
__________________
barracuda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2004, 06:49 PM   #7
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Always place the new fish in the QT. Even though the main tank is still fallow, you do not want to possibley introduce a pathogen or parasite that would extend the normal QT time from 3-4 weeks to 6-8 weeks. Not to mention having to catch the fish and re-acclimate causing further stress.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2004, 11:20 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: montreal, canada
Posts: 58
thanks Steve. That brings me to another question. I would like to have a mandarin dragon in the future, how would you go about keeping it alive in a bare qt? I heard that they are fussy eaters, that they only feed on copepods, which i thought only came from live rock? so many questions, but I like to be informed b4 I get into something.
__________________
barracuda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2004, 11:56 PM   #9
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
That's a really difficult one. They are still capable of carrying and infesting the display tank with parasites although they do have a rather noxious slime coat.

Best recommendation is reading up on raising decapsulated live brine. They are quite nutritious and should offer something the dragonet will eat without hesitation.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2004, 11:24 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: montreal, canada
Posts: 58
thanks alot steve, you've been a great help! by the way have you or antone else ever ordered form www.thepetstop.com? they seem to have great prices but I'm wondering about reliability.
__________________

__________________
barracuda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.