Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 10-30-2005, 11:00 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

new saltwater aquarium owner...

hello. i am a new owner of a 40 gallon JEBO saltwater aquarium. i'm also new to the whole aquairum thing in general. i was looking for some cool fish sites and ran into aquariumadvice. this site seems to be the coolest out of all the ones i saw.
i just finished setting my tank up today. it was actually pretty easy since it's one of those all-in-one aquariums with the heater, filter, and lights. i put the NovAqua and AmQuel and mixed the salt in the water. i used my salt meter and it says that the salt level is perfect.
i am planning to put my live sand in about 5 days later and some fish a few days after i put the sand in. is there anything else that i NEED for the aquarium? is there anything else you guys would recommend me doing?

i've been waiting a long time to get an aquarium and i finally saved up some money and made some room for the aquarium so i'm **** excited!

thanks for any advice.

Old 10-30-2005, 11:17 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak

The live sand should be put in asap with the water and all equipment. Also have you cycled the tank, i assume you have not. If you have not you need to drop a raw shrimp in and wait at least three weeks and then test the water. After you have done this you can add one fish and see how it goes and more marine life slowly. Also do you have any lr or are you using biowheels for the bio load? There is more to know than this but its a place to start and then go from here to there.
good luck.

Old 10-30-2005, 11:19 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak

Oh i forgot did you use tap water to fill the tank or ro/di water ?? also do you have a test kit?
Old 10-30-2005, 11:40 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist