New stuff...not livestock

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ccCapt

SW 20 & Over Club
I've been using Red Sea salt in my reef for well over 15 yrs and always had good success with it. Red Sea recently came out with their new Coral Pro salt. I just picked up a 200 g bucket. Has anyone else tried it yet?

Also, I always used either Hamilton or XM MH bulbs (14k or 15k). They usually run aprox $50+ per bulb. I just purchased 2 14k bulbs on Ebay for like $10 each. Has anyone ever tried these bulbs.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=120100635401

I have used those bulbs, and I have used XMs too....side by side you can tell a difference after 100 hours of burn in but not enough to be a problem as best I can tell. My corals are growing just fine under the cheaper bulbs. At that price I don't mind changing them 3 times a year. I do have an XM on stand by incase something happens but I have been running them for 5 months now and can see visible daily growth of my SPS corals....

I am trying out the Red Sea Coral Pro on my new 180. I am currently using Oceanic but this new Red Sea salt is supposed to have the high Ca numbers as well as good alk and Ph. I have pretty much used up the first bucket but other than knowing it does not dissolve as well as Oceanic, I see know difference. I have not tested anything yet and the 180 does not have livestock in it yet. The Oceanic salt give you 200 gal vs the 160 of the Red Sea too.

The Oceanic salt give you 200 gal vs the 160 of the Red Sea too.
I had the check my bucket. I assumed it was 200g, but actually it says 175g. I never used Oceanic so I can't comment on how it dissolves, but this Coral Pro dissolves about the same as the regular Red Sea salt.