Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 09-15-2010, 02:32 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

New tank algae?

Hey guys I'm new to the hobby of saltwater aquarium keeping, and I have been cycling my tank for about a week now and all my levels, salt, ph, ammonia, temp, seem to be at about normal, but on some of my live rock there has developed some type of red slime maybe? its got air bubbles stuck underneath it and i dont know what it is. Red slime algae? anyone know if this is normal, safe, or do i need to get rid of it.

Thanks.

Old 09-15-2010, 03:21 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus

POTM Champion

Quote:
Originally Posted by country24 View Post
Hey guys I'm new to the hobby of saltwater aquarium keeping, and I have been cycling my tank for about a week now and all my levels, salt, ph, ammonia, temp, seem to be at about normal, but on some of my live rock there has developed some type of red slime maybe? its got air bubbles stuck underneath it and i dont know what it is. Red slime algae? anyone know if this is normal, safe, or do i need to get rid of it.

Thanks.
Welcome to AA!
At first I thought diatoms which is normal after cycling. But with the air bubbles, that does sound like red slime/cyanobacteria. You are only a week in with the cycle so I would probably just wait it out until the tank is truly/fully cycled and see if it is still there. But, it wouldn't hurt to take it out now, if its cyano. Can you get a picture of it to help us ID it?
Do you have any filters, pumps, powerheads running?
What is your ammonia, nitrite and nitrate?

Old 09-15-2010, 06:28 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict