New tank algae?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

country24

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey guys I'm new to the hobby of saltwater aquarium keeping, and I have been cycling my tank for about a week now and all my levels, salt, ph, ammonia, temp, seem to be at about normal, but on some of my live rock there has developed some type of red slime maybe? its got air bubbles stuck underneath it and i dont know what it is. Red slime algae? anyone know if this is normal, safe, or do i need to get rid of it.

Thanks.

Hey guys I'm new to the hobby of saltwater aquarium keeping, and I have been cycling my tank for about a week now and all my levels, salt, ph, ammonia, temp, seem to be at about normal, but on some of my live rock there has developed some type of red slime maybe? its got air bubbles stuck underneath it and i dont know what it is. Red slime algae? anyone know if this is normal, safe, or do i need to get rid of it.

Thanks.

Welcome to AA!
At first I thought diatoms which is normal after cycling. But with the air bubbles, that does sound like red slime/cyanobacteria. You are only a week in with the cycle so I would probably just wait it out until the tank is truly/fully cycled and see if it is still there. But, it wouldn't hurt to take it out now, if its cyano. Can you get a picture of it to help us ID it?
Do you have any filters, pumps, powerheads running?
What is your ammonia, nitrite and nitrate?

ryshark is on the mark here. I would like to know the method that you are using to cycle your tank? In saltwater tanks a little could mean allot, so we need the #'s on those readings to give you an accurate answer. About normal could mean anything.
PS:welcome to AA

About normal usually means perfect for algae/bacteria to thrive. :)