Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-17-2011, 01:03 AM   #21
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Leighton79's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Mansfield UK
Posts: 423
The waste in the skimmer should have colour, the darker the better, (darker = more crud) if you stick your nose in the collection cup and it stinks like rotting matter then it's doing it's job.

As for your next step, if it were me I'd be taking all the livestock back to the lfs to house until it is cycled.
__________________

__________________
Leighton79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 01:08 AM   #22
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 17
Send a message via Skype™ to sgonzal6
How and when should the skimmer start pick out crud?

Ever since the tank started there has never been any color to it. Are fish not required to produce protein waste?

How long does a cycle take?
__________________

__________________
sgonzal6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 01:15 AM   #23
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgonzal6 View Post
None taken.
The protein skimmer does have a little bit of white colored waste in it.
I emptied it right before I picked up my fish.
How long does it take to re-fill so to speak?

Acclimate what? The tank had salt water and live rock in it for 8 days in it before I took the sample. We added Stability each day for those 8 days.

So if the tank has not cycled yet why I am getting zero reading on the test on two separate days?

If the tank is indeed not cycled which it appears as not what is my next step.

Thanks
i was referring to the clownfish. You said you drip acclimated it...how fast did you drip it? 1 drip a sec? 3 drips a sec? I guess its prb not that huge a deal b/c clown are fairly hardy and I'm assuming they were tank raised.

ok then...now I know what you mean when you said the intake pump for the sump. There's no intake pump...that pump is your skimmer pump which pumps water thru the skimmer unit.
You should also know that the skimmer will produce dark STINKY murky nasty stuff. I've never seen any skimate that was white. I'm assuming it was left in the cup from when you rinsed it during setup? Dont know what to tell ya there. Who helped you set this system up? It's reasonable to assume that you didn't. I only ask b/c they should be able to tell you what type of skimmer you have and what it's rated for.

There reason why it's possible (just possible) that the tank hgasn't cycled and ur not getting any ammonia readings is b/c either it hasn't started to spike ammonia yet. It it hasn't spiked ammonia, it wouldn't any nitrite or trates in the system yet. That's like the chicken before the egg.
you need ammonia first to get the other 2.

Now...clowns are hardy and while I'm not proud to say it....i cycled with 2 clowns once before. It was a major pain in the *** b/c i had to check ammonia levels every day (they would be 2 and 4!) and have to change out 20-25% water change every single day to bring the ammonia levels down to where the clowns would endure it. My wife got jumpy and bought them before cycle was over.
It sucked big time, BUT.....they survived and I have them now. They look great, but if the ammonia levels weren't kept at a lower level, they wouldn't have made it.

I really hope your cycled brother b/c those really are cool looking coral pieces and I highly doubt they would have a chance.

All this might be jumping the gun And you may b e cycled. Just trying to figure it out.
__________________
Tmyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 01:19 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgonzal6 View Post
How and when should the skimmer start pick out crud?

Ever since the tank started there has never been any color to it. Are fish not required to produce protein waste?

How long does a cycle take?
usually there is a "break in" period to a skimmer which could be up to a month. My previous coralife took about 2-3 weeks to start producing a foam. However my octopus started producing foam within hours.

Fish will produce waste. period.
just like us all...we eat, we ****.

With fully cured aged live rock...a cycle could be pretty **** quick and that's why it is possible that you did cycle. maybe not 8 days, but maybe 2 full weeks. (14 days)
__________________
Tmyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 01:23 AM   #25
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgonzal6
How and when should the skimmer start pick out crud?

Ever since the tank started there has never been any color to it. Are fish not required to produce protein waste?

How long does a cycle take?
This is along the lines of what if skimmer will/produce when it's broken in. Even this is a bit light. I have it on a wet skim bc I just got over a slime algae problem! U get the idea
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2911127747.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	42.0 KB
ID:	65975  
__________________
Tmyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 01:27 AM   #26
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Leighton79's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Mansfield UK
Posts: 423
I think it depends on skimmer quality, I always use deltec skimmers, expensive but it's an area I won't skimp in. As above, you see skimmate instantly.

What brand is yours?

I'd be tempted to throw a bubble magus in that sump when you have a bio load big enough.

Maybe you had an instant cycle.

Keep testing ammonia and nitrite and see if you ever get detectable levels.

IMO the Api test kit isn't great, salifert all day long for me.
__________________
Leighton79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 01:34 AM   #27
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 17
Send a message via Skype™ to sgonzal6
I was told that this was fully cured rock; which is why I assume that they told me that I could add fish and coral so quickly.

I attached 2 pictures of the skimmer top as it has appeared since I put the rock in it. I may have to adjust the level of the skimmer to get more water flow.

There is a youtube video of how to set up the sump which i followed.
http://www.youtube .com/watch?v=sGJ3Wy1fvz8 Just remove the space if you are so inclined to watch it.

It is a CPR cyclone bio-filter. I got some feedback saying that it was a good sump.

Thank you.
I will test the ammonia tomorrow and give the store a call.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0977.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	188.7 KB
ID:	65976   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0978.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	175.5 KB
ID:	65977  

__________________
sgonzal6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 01:42 AM   #28
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgonzal6
I was told that this was fully cured rock; which is why I assume that they told me that I could add fish and coral so quickly.

I attached 2 pictures of the skimmer top as it has appeared since I put the rock in it. I may have to adjust the level of the skimmer to get more water flow.

There is a youtube video of how to set up the sump which i followed.
http://www.youtube .com/watch?v=sGJ3Wy1fvz8 Just remove the space if you are so inclined to watch it.

It is a CPR cyclone bio-filter. I got some feedback saying that it was a good sump.

Thank you.
I will test the ammonia tomorrow and give the store a call.
Ok that's not that unusual. I get exactly that when I rly stir up the tank. Like rescape .

I got a LOT of that when I swapped from my smaller tank to the one I have now. Mostly substrate debris and what not. That's not skimate. Some skimmers can b really finicky so I wud agree when u say Ull have to adjust till u get it right. It's prob not set right.

Be sure to check that it's sitting in the right depth of water too. If that's off.....won't work properly.
__________________
Tmyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 02:13 AM   #29
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 17
Send a message via Skype™ to sgonzal6
So I took a quick peek and made some small adjustments.
But how soon should foam appear? It is instant?
I just adjusted the skimmer gate to the max height and am getting very little foam.
I emptied the collection cup and hopefully there will be more of a tea substance in there tomorrow.
__________________
sgonzal6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 02:16 AM   #30
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 258
Cud take a couple hrs...cud take a couple weeks but u shud def see the microbubbles no matter what. Glad u got that adjusted. Some skimmers......constant battle.
__________________

__________________
Tmyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clowns, feeding, new tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fish-in Cycling: Step over into the dark side. jetajockey Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 55 10-15-2016 03:22 PM
Q/T Tank Questions Ziggs180 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 10-04-2011 11:07 PM
New to forum and very frustrated with my tank! MaraLSky Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 7 09-04-2011 11:30 PM
Stocking questions for my 36gallon tank!!!!! Petrovius Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 08-18-2011 07:47 PM
New with questions jmpgop Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 16 07-19-2011 12:15 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.