Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-20-2010, 06:55 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
new tank idea!! need opinions!!

so ive been thinking of ways to set up my SW tank since im currently waitng to do so. my latest idea is that i use my 30 gallon tank 36x12x16 as my sump. then make a stand and on top house two cubes with a fish bridge in between the two . only thing im not sure about is lighting, and my filtration. i like the 25 gallon cubes which are 18x18x18. But im not a fan of MH but they dont make t5ho fixtures that small. so any suggrstions? also if im thinking right i could use two over flows and two return pumps for the sump right?
__________________

__________________
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 07:37 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
So what would be the total measuremnts of the two tanks and your bridge?
That would be the size of lights you would need.
__________________

__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 07:43 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
well would i need to hang lights over the bridge? and itll be 44 inches total. so 36 used by tanks and 8 by the bridge
__________________
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 07:44 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
i could extend it to 48 just all of this space wont be able to be seen. or i could cut it back to 36 inches and get that light which that'd result in smaller cubes
__________________
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 10:45 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
yetee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Salt Lake, Utah
Posts: 189
Aquarium Lighting for Reef Systems: Current Nova Extreme Pro Saltwater T-5 Fixtures

would this work? they sell a 20" unit that might work for you if you dont want to do MH's.

EDIT: found this light too. not as bright though only 2 bulbs
http://www.fosterandsmithaquatics.co...0&pcatid=16770

As TC said you could always go with 1 light that goes across everything.
__________________
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/articl...ank/Page1.html how to cycle your tank
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/articl...ate/Page1.html How the Nitrogen cycle works
yetee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 02:12 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
well the cubes are 18 inch not 20 and true. but i figured out i could re arrange things and get like 48 inches of space. so give me some ideas of tanks but theyd have to be able to have the fish bridge
__________________
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2010, 07:50 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
any ideas?
__________________
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 01:01 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
No ideas!
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 01:36 AM   #9
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Not to be a buzzkill or anything.. but i'll put my money on the fact that you never follow through with the whole "bridge" design. You think of it now.. but when you get to it.. it's going to be harder than you think. You need to cut square holes in each of the cubes, and then build a square cylinder that fits the square holes you cut perfectly, otherwise there will be leakage, even with good silicone coverage. Even if you do something like a cylindrical bridge, you would have to hollow out a gigantic acrylic rod.. depending on how big you plan on making the bridge ofcourse, but i can imagine hollowing out an acrylic rod would not be a fun job. Unless you have access to a fairly large drill press. And even then you run risk of not being able to cut all the way through the rod, and you also run the risk of shattering or warping the rod since acrylic gets hot and melts with very little cutting tension. When i was cutting my acrylic sheets to size, maybe 3 or 4 full blade strokes and the chips coming off of the acrylic were very hot.

In all honesty.. the whole "bridge" idea sounds pretty ridiculous.. and a little risky. Plus.. if you make it a small bridge.. what are you going to put in it? And how will you know if the fish or livestock will even be smart enough to go through it lol. And then cleaning it?? Dear lord.. i'm sure that will be the funnest part. Unless you intend to just let it turn green and get completely opaque with algae coverage.. but then that would sort of be pointless right? No pun intended.. but it sounds like a pipe-dream.
__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 01:54 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
yetee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Salt Lake, Utah
Posts: 189
the second sets of lights I listed are 18". you could just use a 36" fixture. if you want to use the 25 cubes or go with some lower wattage MH's or even LED's.

If you want to do it go for it. just so you dont give up because people have said you would have to hollow out a acrylic cylinder, you can purchase acrylic tubes at any plastic supplier. I have seen them range is wall thicknesses from 1/16" to 3/8" and I am sure they have more sizes than that. so if you went with an acrylic tank that would be the way to go. for a glass tank you would want to go with a glass cylinder (silicone doesnt bond too well to acrylic) that I am sure you can get, or a giant bulk head.
__________________

__________________
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/articl...ank/Page1.html how to cycle your tank
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/articl...ate/Page1.html How the Nitrogen cycle works
yetee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zoanthid on back glass... Good Idea? Bad Idea? Kurt_Nelson Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 07-09-2008 12:11 AM
co2 diffuser on timer. (good idea/bad idea?) kangarooooooooo Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 01-09-2008 11:44 PM
considering adding apistos: good idea or bad idea? SeymourFRESH Cichlid Discussion 17 11-06-2006 09:49 PM
opinions on my first SW tank??? arminkropp Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 12 12-08-2004 08:10 PM
your opinions on my first SW tank! arminkropp Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 12-07-2004 12:14 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.