new to the hobbie and new tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

joseramentol

Aquarium Advice Activist
hello everyone i started my tank today and wanted to know what you guys think ive done right so far and done wrong and what i am missing,also what i should be checking for this 3 weeks of cycling the water.

-10 gallon tank (decided to start small)
-4.7 pounds of live rocks
-2 mechanical filters 1 on each side
-sand from the local aquarium store

i will be buying my light tomorrow as well as the heater

if you guys have any good tips please let me know this is my first time ever doing a salt water fish tank and need all the help i can get, i will also be posting pictures soon:thanks:

Sounds like your off to a good start.

I will say that the smaller the tank, the more difficult it is, especially for a beginner. But im sure if you do your research and maintain it well you can do it. I would say get a 20-30g from craigslist, it will be less maintenance and allow for much more of a selection when it comes to fish.

Make sure you have a good test kit, most recommend the API liquid kits.

Do some research on fishless cycling, and take your time with it, patience is key with a saltwater tank.

For lighting make sure you go for 10000k light color or above. Check out my thread on cheap LEDs, for a 10g you could get a 10w 12000k LED flood light on eBay for $30, there cheap, look great, and capable of growing corals should you want to once you have mastered your first FOWLR.