New to the saltwater world.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tmgixxer

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hey there I'm new to the saltwater world and I have had my tank (75 gal) running for about 3 weeks. I have 2 damsels and 2 clown in the tank helping the cycle. But I am getting brown algae like dust on my sand and live rock. I also have some corals that seem to be doing great. Any advice please????

Lol what cycle wars should I be scared for my fish and anemone? I also have some small white thing on my glass it looks like a baby star fish. I tried to post a picture but my iPhone didn't let me.

lol no i'm just waitng for the angry mob that goes along with doing a cycle with fish

Is it harder to do it with fish? At my local fish store they told me that I should put them in so they can help get the bio going. Sorry so many questions I just wanna do it rite and not kill so many fish lol.

not harder just cruel and more expensive with the probable loss of life. Most put a raw shrimp in to get there ammonia source as it basically rots. Then remove and wait and do partial water changes, to sum it up.

Do you suggest I still do that? Or should I just let the fish take care of it?

I would not suggest that unless you are able to return the fish. At this point I would just stay on top of the water changes to keep ammonia down.

My ammonia has been down I am using prime to keep it under control. My nitrite is a bit high last I tested was at 0.2.

Extremely cruel and inefficient, don't listen to that LFS again. He obviously just wanted to sell a fish. Cycling with fish takes longer then using raw shrimp or pure ammonia. Too late now, just stay up on the water changes, and those damsels are going to get aggressive and difficult to remove from the tank.