Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-24-2014, 10:38 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lshann14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 'Merica
Posts: 347
Should I invest in RO/DI filter or just keep buying water for $5per 5 gallons at my LFS
__________________

__________________
Lshann14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 10:52 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
Well here is the thing. First, you used the old substrate from old tank which would normally give you a problem even how much you have cleaned it. Second, If you are still using the same size of filters for your bigger tank, it is now processing higher volume of water. The third, even your tap water has low nitrate it is loaded with total dissolved solids. The more water you put in the more filtration you will need. Otherwise, it keeps on compounding like what it is doing now.
__________________

__________________
"Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion". George Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90w86...A434PW3gEa1-QA
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 10:57 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lshann14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 'Merica
Posts: 347
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffaquarius View Post
Well here is the thing. First, you used the old substrate from old tank which would NORMALLY give you a problem even how much you have cleaned it. Second, If you are still using the same size of filters for your bigger tank, it is now processing higher volume of water. The third, even your tap water has low nitrate it is loaded with total dissolved solids. The more water you put in the more filtration you will need. Otherwise, it keeps on compounding like what it is doing now.


1.) Key word "normally"
Substrate is better than new.
2.) Not even close to the same size filter
3.) I'm not just a newbie to this
4.) I'm now using RO/DI WATER
I haven't been because the last 6 tanks I've had I had no problem with it.
__________________
Lshann14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 11:04 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
So you just pretended that you were not using ro/di at first. Now you say you are. What is the point?
__________________
"Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion". George Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90w86...A434PW3gEa1-QA
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 11:24 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lshann14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 'Merica
Posts: 347
No.
I wasn't... I went to the store... And NOW I am
__________________
Lshann14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 11:35 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
Did you say you also had upgraded other tanks before and using old substrate from the other and never had a problem?
__________________
"Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion". George Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90w86...A434PW3gEa1-QA
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 02:39 AM   #27
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 258
I think he's eluding to the fact that your saying you're an experienced aquarist, but yet you dont own an ro/di system use tap water on your 165g system (which is loaded with a ton of dissolved solids--my tap is usually between 200-280!) and also don't know the how to test that with a tds meter. I'm pretty sure that's what he's thinking....
__________________
Tmyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 12:45 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lshann14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 'Merica
Posts: 347
No problems with used substrate ever.

Our water is #1 in the US
And has an extremely low Tds
__________________
Lshann14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 01:04 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bribo12's Avatar

Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 9,117
Here's the problem with even the best tap. It still reads above 0 Tds. Rodi is 0. Your tap is reading nitrates which means as you take water out, yes you're removing nitrates but when you put water back in you're adding nitrates. So lets say your nitrates are 10 before a wc, you then do a 10% wc to bring your trates down to 9. Well you add the new water and bam they're up to 11. Rodi saves so much hassle and while expensive up front is quite worth it for a reef tank.
__________________
20 Gallon SPS reef
29 Gallon FW "fat catfish" tank
20 Gallon Long Dart Frogs "Zig" and "Zag"
bribo12 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 01:10 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lshann14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 'Merica
Posts: 347
Yep thx
__________________

__________________
Lshann14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, nitrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Total Nitrate VS Nitrate-Nitrogen ganiel Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 24 08-19-2012 12:09 AM
Nitrate-Nitrogen or Total Nitrate johnkristie Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 06-11-2008 10:06 PM
Nitrate Problem Fresh Water Fre Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 11-01-2002 04:10 PM
Ammonia/Nitrate readings spewns Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 09-05-2002 10:56 AM
The ammonia to nitrate process fishfreek Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 0 06-14-2002 11:41 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.