Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-25-2014, 02:25 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 258
Just out of curiosity bro...where are you?

I'm just curious as to what city has the best water in the us.
__________________

__________________
Tmyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 02:57 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lshann14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 'Merica
Posts: 347
Arlington Texas
__________________

__________________
Lshann14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 03:18 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lshann14 View Post
No problems with used substrate ever.

Our water is #1 in the US
And has an extremely low Tds
A good drinking water has lots of minerals in it to promote health. Those minerals are what we call tds. If your tap water has low tds then it would be considered as not good for the health. Once you get your tds meter please let us know.
__________________
"Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion". George Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90w86...A434PW3gEa1-QA
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 03:28 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lshann14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 'Merica
Posts: 347
I'm not going to buy a TDS meter
I'll just figure out how to use this RO/DI filter
__________________
Lshann14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 03:39 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,675
You'll need a tds meter to know when it's time to change the filter media on the ro unit. Most units come with meters......
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2014, 01:40 PM   #36
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
uh.oh...'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Brevard, North Carolina
Posts: 418
You can bring your rodi water to a friend with a tds meter too. Or a local fish store. It isn't necessary to own one if you can use one

Sent from my SM-G900V using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
See My Tanks Here
I have found the best way to cycle your tank! Want to know how? Pee in it. Build thread: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-141081-3.html Scientific Reading: Reefkeeping
uh.oh... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2014, 01:48 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lshann14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 'Merica
Posts: 347
Okeydokey
__________________
Lshann14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2014, 02:26 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
I picked up my tds meter from ebay for less than $10.

Not a bad thing to have and it would shed alot of light on the whole situation.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2014, 03:18 PM   #39
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by carey View Post
I picked up my tds meter from ebay for less than $10.

Not a bad thing to have and it would shed alot of light on the whole situation.
That's a very good investment and making your life easier.
__________________
"Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion". George Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90w86...A434PW3gEa1-QA
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2014, 03:25 PM   #40
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ingy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Comox, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,837
Nitrate

There is a product called nitrate destroyer. It's an anaerobic bacteria that consumes nitrates and then is consumed in turn by your filter feeders (pods, corals etc). Because they're anaerobic they quickly die and you have to add a capful or 2 daily. Worked for me.
But remember , this is a cure for the result - high nitrates, and not for the cause of them.

Edit:
You also will see a significant increase in your skimmate from the destroyer.
__________________

__________________
Ingy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, nitrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Total Nitrate VS Nitrate-Nitrogen ganiel Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 24 08-19-2012 12:09 AM
Nitrate-Nitrogen or Total Nitrate johnkristie Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 06-11-2008 10:06 PM
Nitrate Problem Fresh Water Fre Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 11-01-2002 04:10 PM
Ammonia/Nitrate readings spewns Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 09-05-2002 10:56 AM
The ammonia to nitrate process fishfreek Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 0 06-14-2002 11:41 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.