Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-16-2011, 04:16 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Travis55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kio707 View Post
I know. It takes each tank different times. Just gotta be patient. Mine took 6 weeks for my 90g.
Ok. I guess ill just wait it out...
__________________

__________________
Travis55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 04:18 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Kio707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,519
I know it's hard, but it'll pay off in the long run.
__________________

__________________
Kio707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 12:39 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
MBliss81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 327
If you have anything but 0 Ammonia you are not done cycling. Once the ammonia drops, the nitrites will come up as a result. Then they’ll drop and nitrates will rise. Wait until you have 0 ammonia, and 0 nitrites, then do a good water change and your tank will be cycled. Adding anything before that will just be the beginning of months of frustration, trust me.
__________________
55 gallon reef tank. AquaticLife 4-bulb T5 HO with 4 LED moonlights. Reef Octopus BH-1000 HOB protein skimmer. TLF Phosban Reactor 150 running 400ml of NPX Bioplastics with a Maxi-Jet 1100 and a BRS Reactor running activated carbon with a Maxi-Jet 900. Vortech MP10w.
MBliss81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 12:49 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Travis55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by MBliss81 View Post
If you have anything but 0 Ammonia you are not done cycling. Once the ammonia drops, the nitrites will come up as a result. Then they’ll drop and nitrates will rise. Wait until you have 0 ammonia, and 0 nitrites, then do a good water change and your tank will be cycled. Adding anything before that will just be the beginning of months of frustration, trust me.
Thanks for the info. I guess for now ill save my tests and just check ammonia once or so a week till its zero and then do others. My salinity is almost 1.032 can that mess with my levels?
__________________
Travis55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 12:52 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Kio707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,519
No. but you need to drop it. Use less salt when doing mixes for pwc. For now, let it be till everything is 0.
__________________

__________________
Kio707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
level, nitrate, nitrate level

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High nitrate levels. Spoor3773 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 11-13-2011 07:53 PM
ammonia, no nitrite, and high nitrate?? MissKush Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 08-27-2011 10:38 AM
three of my fish tanks (2 salt, 1 fresh) my nitrate levels are through the roof! redsea Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 08-26-2011 12:12 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.