Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-26-2007, 02:36 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cicero IL.
Posts: 43
I'm really considering a larger tank right now. I'm engaged and am going to be moving in a about 2 years. How does one go about moving 72 gallon aquarium from one house to another?

If I go with a 72 gallon, is there some one thats been reading that can list the steps involved with setting up and cycling for me and the materials such as filters, pumps, sand type, etc. so I can do it right this time. I'm thinking a sump but already have a hang on protein skimmer rated for 75 gallons. Its not that old and I like it.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks for everything so far.
__________________

__________________
Yellow Jobber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 02:46 PM   #22
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Go to the article section of this page and read about cycling a tank.

Moving a tank is a task. Especially if it has been up and running for a couple of years and has corals gowing in it. It can be done as long as you take your time and do everything one step at a time.

Go with a sump! You will be glad that you did. I have a 72g Bow (I'm guessing that is what you are looking at) and I love it. I have a total water volume of 120gal with my sumps and main display combined.
__________________

__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 10:23 PM   #23
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=76139
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 10:23 PM   #24
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=76139
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 02:32 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cicero IL.
Posts: 43
Ok first, thanks to everyone who has posted! I greatly appreciate the share of your knowledge.

I have located a tank. 75 gal Oceanic tank with Oceanic trickle filter model 75. I read the article about cycling the tank in the articles section. Should I be cycling the tank with LR of wait until after the tank has cycled to add LR.
__________________
Yellow Jobber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 04:07 PM   #26
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
If you have LR in the tank during the cycle it will help speed things along.
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2007, 03:31 PM   #27
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Cured or Uncured?

Uncured will start the cycle a/o prolong it if you already started it. Cured may shorten the cycle somewhat as it already has dentrifying bacteria throughout.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2007, 03:41 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cicero IL.
Posts: 43
Well I have the opportunity to get nearly 60lbs of LR for $200. The guy has taken it out of his aquarium and has it in a Tupperware container with water. I'm assuming that it has a lot of die off. What do you guys think? I also have the opportunity to purchase some base rock as well.
__________________
Yellow Jobber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2007, 03:19 PM   #29
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Is the rock heated and have a poer head running for circulation?
How long has it been out of the tank? If more than a few days, then it should also have been fed a bit of flake to maintain the baccteria population.
If so then there is very little die off and could be considered cured LR.

If it's just sitting in a tub of room temperature water with no cirulation then there will be die off.

$200 for 60 pounds does not like a great deal.

SW - Fiji Standard Live Rock 45 lb. Box $ 89.99 + shipping

DG-80243 SW - Caribbean Live Rock (60 lb. Box) $ 135.00 + shipping

Fiji Premium Quality Un-Cured Live Rock r-fp-44Regular: $199.00S ale: $159.95 + $35 S&H
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2007, 02:49 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 158
Dont forget to test the water that you are putting in the tank. You may have nitrates in the water you are adding to the tank. I had a similar problem with nitrates. I could never get it to zero. I took all the crushed coral out, replaced it with aragamax. I also had to purchase a ro/di setup to purify my tap water. Since these changes, I have had zero nitrates for quite some time.
__________________

__________________
55 gallon, FOWLR, 70 pds of live rock, live sand, HOB Emperor 400, protein skimmer, 2 maxi jet 1200. T5 lighting, 1 snowflake eel, 1 spotted cardinal, 1 6 line wrasse, 1 foxface one spot, 1 female percula, 1 anemone, snails, crabs,
saywill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
level, nitrate, nitrate level

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nitrate Levels richiestang_78 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 05-12-2006 05:21 AM
nitrate level through the roof!!!!!!!! vsnsofadrgn Saltwater Reef Aquaria 51 11-26-2005 04:05 PM
OMG my Phosphate levels are through the roof ddkyork Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 04-15-2005 10:30 AM
Nitrate levels through the roof still :-( neon_hybrid Saltwater Reef Aquaria 15 03-04-2005 06:44 PM
nitrate levels mattmku Saltwater Reef Aquaria 11 10-20-2004 10:18 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.