Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-04-2012, 03:29 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 432
Nitrate reading 160? API test kit

Hi everyone,

I just took my nitrate reading and it's showing bright red with the API test kit. I remember reading something that you need to divide this number by something to get your true reading. Can someone help me out. I am running 54g reef set up over 3 years and have never had this issue. I have a wet dry trickle filter and am running chemi pure and gfo in the bag under the drip plate. All coral seem to be extending and polyp are out. Just did a 10% pwc on Sunday.

I am kind of freaking out. Test kit could be a year old, and I did the test twice to make sure I didn't add too much and test wrong. I shook the bottles for a while too as I heard that you should do that.

Omg, what is going on!!!
__________________

__________________
Rosesrblu1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 03:40 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
pritchard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 241
Test again with a different kit !!!!
__________________

__________________
pritchard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 03:45 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
pritchard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 241
If your still reading the same on a different test kit then I'd jump on a 40% water change and run a more in depth test and see why it's suddenly shot up !
__________________
pritchard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 10:01 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 432
Ok, so I took my water to Lfs and they tested at 20, which is a way better number than 160. I bought a new test kit, red sea...time for another pwc!!!

Thx!
__________________
Rosesrblu1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 10:06 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rosesrblu1
Ok, so I took my water to Lfs and they tested at 20, which is a way better number than 160. I bought a new test kit, red sea...time for another pwc!!!

Thx!
Double check with your new kit to make sure. At least I would
__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 10:34 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
API nitrAte kit is notorious for giving false reads. I went through the same thing. I went through 3 kits. They should really do something about that. Call the company they will send you a new one free. You just have to send your back.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 10:59 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Soccerdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: South Florida
Posts: 166
Wow, I have been using an API for over a year...... Makes me wonder what my water quality really is........
__________________
Soccerdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 11:23 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
Just get a red sea kit. I recently switch to it and I love it. Way better than API .
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 11:40 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 432
I got the grate and phosphate combo kit...looks really cool...for a test kit...going to try it out in a few...fingers crossed...I knew something was off because I have good polyp extension and the fish look good...weird...even my hubby is thinking about 86ing all the API and getting red sea.

What do you all use for ph and ammonia, as red sea doesn't make them and when they did, they got horrible reviews. Salifert???
__________________
Rosesrblu1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 07:21 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
pritchard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 241
I use salifert !!! Thumbs up !!!
__________________

__________________
pritchard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
api, nitrate, test, test kit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.