Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-25-2010, 10:03 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 218
Unhappy Bad nitrates

Nitrates on the API scale were 80 almost 160, that is pretty bad.
But the fish seem just fine. All other readings are on target.
__________________

__________________
FishFreak1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 10:07 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 218
I have also heard that flake food produces a lot of ammonia and
nitrates, but that is just what I heard from a clerk at the LFS.
Is there any sort of saltwater planting I could use to help with the
Nitrates?
__________________

__________________
FishFreak1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 10:17 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kdogg85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 506
You could try some chaetomorpha macroalgae(it feeds on nitrate,phosphate and light, what else,I don't know.) all you do is trim it when it gets too big for your liking and that gets rid of the excess nutrients. It would work great if you setup a sump. I have it in my sump and my nitrates and phosphates are zero. I only feed every other day, and that helped out a bunch.
__________________
kdogg85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 10:26 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 218
Please forgive my ignorance, but what does sump mean? I haven't been in this
but 9 mos and I keep seeing in sump and I don't know. ..... feeling pretty dumb.
I will cut down feedings - I know that is a big contributor. I don't seem to have any algae at all since the lawnmower blenny came, he is awesome!! I hope it
isn't hungry because I don't seem to have much algae, I hang some in a clip once a day and that could be too much??? Some plants would sure liven up the place. All I have are dead rocks. Do I need live rock also?
__________________
FishFreak1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 10:27 PM   #15
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Just going to put it out there as well.. I have an API test kit for nitrates as well, and when my tank was done cycling, i was getting nitrate readings of 5-10ppm.. Now, a bit more than a month later, i have no nitrates. So i don't think API is all that bad, maybe some people just got bogus test kits.. or had expired ones. I also have a fuge with tons of caulerpa and chaeto, so i could imagine that has something to do with my zero nitrates and phosphates.
__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 10:30 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
what is in your main display? do you have any live rock thus far? can you explain your system?
what is the livestock list?
how much live rock if any?
what exactly does "#1 power head" mean? does this mean you have one power head?
if so, what model power head is this?
what was the result of your nitrate test kit?

you can use a mechanical filter as long as you clean it regularly. i would clean it out weekly.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 10:38 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kdogg85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 506
A sump is an aquarium under the aquarium, it acts as the filter. If you could fit a 20 gallon tank under yours, it would do way more than the canister you have now. Look at the pics,this is one I done for a friend and it works great,not elaborate,but does the job. The other pic is of the overflow box(gets the water down to the sump. The stuff in the middle is the chaetomorpha. I don't know if it shows up well but the far chamber holds the return pump. If you do have live rock, that is your main biological filter. All the rock in the tank is about 80lbs and it's a 75g tank.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0460.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	206.5 KB
ID:	24735   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0459.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	193.3 KB
ID:	24736  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0461.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	209.8 KB
ID:	24737  
__________________
kdogg85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 10:39 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 218
No live rock
Clown, damsel, pygmy angel, lawnmower blenny, sleeper goby (both very busy)
choc chip star, 2 coral banded shrimp
1 fancy nass snail, 10 turbo, 10 or so sm nass snails, 5 sm hermits and a feather duster.
Fluval 205 cannister filter with a #1 koralia powerhead, AquaC Remora pro skimmer 2 wks old, skimming well.
Nitrates read 80, maybe 160 - very dark red on the API chart.
Salinity was 25, Ammonia 0, Phosphates barely there, keep temp at 77
Sand substrate, that is about it. I
__________________
FishFreak1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 10:46 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 218
My goodness, I wish I did have room under mine to do that. Do I need to take
the foam out of the canister or something - maybe that is hoarding the nitrates.
I change foam about once a month, but have left the ceramic balls in there. When do I need to change them? LFS lady said not to rinse those when I changed carbon, foam. Who knows???
__________________
FishFreak1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 11:02 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kdogg85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 506
The only bad thing is when you clean the foam you will kill the bacteria in the foam. I think there is a way to clean it properly, but let the experts on here tell you that. I would tell you something wrong and destroy your tank. For a sump or refugium, you wouldn't need as big a tank. People on here gave me the tip to use a sump and I am glad I did. If you don't have room for such a thing, then you have to make due with what you have.
__________________

__________________
kdogg85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nitrates

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nitrates kmacc99 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 13 05-18-2008 11:30 AM
Nitrates chipchop Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 45 03-14-2008 09:24 PM
nitrates between 10-20 katz Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 01-13-2005 02:09 PM
Low nitrates Keepers_girl Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 07-07-2004 10:06 PM
High Nitrates And the Best way to lower Nitrates Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 11-29-2003 07:40 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.