Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-06-2005, 01:01 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
I have a skimmer and macro...I do have a question on the macro...how do you know when to prune macro though??
__________________

__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2005, 02:20 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
You can always add more LR to your tank or LR rubble in your sump (if you have one). If you are using bioballs in a sump they can also contribute to the nitrate problem.
__________________

__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 12:14 AM   #13
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
I'm having the same problem in my 125. I have a 6-8" DSB 185 pounds of LR, etc...

Seachem always tests so high they don't measure it. Salifert last week tested at 25 I did 2 - 15gallon water changes and added some macro and light to my 30 gal sump (put some LS and LR rubble in there too.

I also cut back feedings to every other day and cut lights back to a 6hr/8hr schedule form a 10/12 schedule.

I'm hopeful that will work.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 12:33 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by lando
If you are using bioballs in a sump they can also contribute to the nitrate problem.
Bio Media in my skimmer. The surface skimmer box pulls in uneatin food, but it does not make it to the collection. I just rinsed it with some RO that I had left over. We'll see
Thanks
Jason
__________________
thedukeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 10:28 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
What type of biomedia in the skimmer?? Rinsing it off every couple of weeks is a good idea. It may be better in the future to rinse it in SW from your tank so you do not loose the benifical bateria that is alraedy on it. When you do a water chang just reserve some of the water to rinse your media in.
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 03:25 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by lando
It may be better in the future to rinse it in SW from your tank so you do not loose the benifical bateria that is alraedy on it. When you do a water chang just reserve some of the water to rinse your media in.
This is what I did... But I canged too much water too fast and salt burnt a few things in the process I had a ton of new feather duster tube and mushrooms that I was really getting fastenated with and now they are screaming "I"M MELTING"
The only thing good was my nitrates dropped by half in one day after rinsing the OEM bac pac media.
Thanks,
Jason
__________________
thedukeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 03:33 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,111
Changed water too fast? Is this possible? I changed more than 75 gallons in my 120 last week in one water change during a terrible overfeeding accident and everything made it through the transition just fine. I probably changed 200 gallons of water over the course of the week. I did make sure to age my saltwater for at least 24 with a good PH and heater to get it up to temp. Was your water aged? Warmed?
__________________
Phyllis

Join the NJ Reef Club Today! Saving the world's reefs one living room at a time!
MACNA XXI Atlantic City, NJ September 25-27, 2009
Phyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 09:17 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phyl
Was your water aged? Warmed?
NO! I mixed my water and put it in the tank after two hours! I recenty was reading a pole that someone posted and found the information on water changes and mixing time. When I bought this marine tank it was already established for three to four years. The person who owned it prior to me went to the LFS and bought water. Well I said the hell with that I can Mix water and salt and read and gravity meter! So I did, but know one ever told me that I needed to mix it for that long or heat it during the process. I did know not to just mix it and dump it, but I figured that once it had disoulved for a good two hours that it would be fine.....Guess not?
So I sold my extra PC light fixture and I'm going to buy a extra powerhead and heater for mixing water for at least 8-12 hours.

Get in a hurry and kill and learn I guess!
Thanks,
Jason
__________________
thedukeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 10:33 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 184
I have chate(macro algae) in my sump, and my Nitrate is <10.
__________________

__________________
sevise is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nitrates

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nitrates brianf40us Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 01-11-2009 12:02 PM
Nitrates Ginafish Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 03-13-2005 01:07 AM
Nitrates! lando Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 08-15-2004 03:46 PM
Nitrates fishman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 08-09-2004 07:10 AM
High Nitrates And the Best way to lower Nitrates Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 11-29-2003 07:40 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.