Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-11-2009, 12:19 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 122
You might want to check your equipment. If your 'my tanks' is correct and the fact that you lost the clowns then that leaves you with 1 fish, correct.. the 2 clowns you had for 5 days... so one would suspect that the issue may be in the maintenance/equipment area.

However,

what are u using for filtration? HOB, Canister, sump? Using a filter sock?
How many powerheads?

Did you cycle/cure the rock in tank? How long ago?

When you say everything else in the tank is fine; inverts/fish... Isn't that 1 fish at this point? 3 total, 2 died?
__________________

__________________
CementShoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 09:33 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Sharkbait430's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northern Westchester, NY
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by thincat View Post
Try to think back and see if you can come up with "Why" your nitrates are that high in the first place.
Check your source water, check your feeding, check the bioload of your tank...maybe max out your tank. you may need more flow, an HOB to scurb your water once a month or so. You might have to syphon a 1/3rd of your sand to help the CUC catch up with the load. The list goes on but I think you get what I am trying to say..."Find the problem" and it will be easier down the road when you decide to venture into a reef setup.
The bioload I dont think is an issue as I only have one fish at the moment. Im considering getting the oceanic protein skimmer thats made for the BioCube. I will start to investigate however where the problem is. I only feed once every 2 days and I only feed enough for my one fish to eat everything. We'll see what I find...Thanks TC
__________________

__________________
Danilo
Vote AA!
Sharkbait430 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 09:35 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Sharkbait430's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northern Westchester, NY
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by CementShoes View Post
You might want to check your equipment. If your 'my tanks' is correct and the fact that you lost the clowns then that leaves you with 1 fish, correct.. the 2 clowns you had for 5 days... so one would suspect that the issue may be in the maintenance/equipment area.

However,

what are u using for filtration? HOB, Canister, sump? Using a filter sock?
How many powerheads?

Did you cycle/cure the rock in tank? How long ago?

When you say everything else in the tank is fine; inverts/fish... Isn't that 1 fish at this point? 3 total, 2 died?
Well, I have a BioCube so that comes with the filtration. Along with having the 30lbs of LR, I have the biological, chemical, and mechanical filtration that the cubes come with. The LR that I got was cured and the tank cycled with it in there for about 4 weeks prior to me putting any life in it. Yes, everything is fine meaning that my one fish is doing well for 5 weeks now, along with all my inverts and my sea star.
__________________
Danilo
Vote AA!
Sharkbait430 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 09:43 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 122
Don't they have one of those 'all in one' filter inserts? If so, how often do you change that? BTW: the suggestion to test your source water is worthwhile as well. It will tell you what your starting point is/was. Be that 0 or 10 or whatever, it gives you an idea of what your tank is producing outside of the water content going in.

I'll confess I don't know much about biocubes
__________________
CementShoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 10:00 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Sharkbait430's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northern Westchester, NY
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by CementShoes View Post
Don't they have one of those 'all in one' filter inserts? If so, how often do you change that? BTW: the suggestion to test your source water is worthwhile as well. It will tell you what your starting point is/was. Be that 0 or 10 or whatever, it gives you an idea of what your tank is producing outside of the water content going in.

I'll confess I don't know much about biocubes
Yeah they have the carbon filter insert that I change every 3 weeks. I will definitely start to check my source water for nitrates and see what the levels are. Thanks guys.
__________________
Danilo
Vote AA!
Sharkbait430 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 10:06 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 122
Those insert things can cause huge nitrates if they are not kept clean. Esp if you feed too much the excess ends up trapped in the mechanical filter media and ends up as nitrates.
__________________
CementShoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 10:08 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Sharkbait430's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northern Westchester, NY
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by CementShoes View Post
Those insert things can cause huge nitrates if they are not kept clean. Esp if you feed too much the excess ends up trapped in the mechanical filter media and ends up as nitrates.

Hmm, good point, I know I dont feed too much but I should maybe clean them every couple of days (although I do change them every 3 weeks or so)
__________________

__________________
Danilo
Vote AA!
Sharkbait430 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nitrates

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nitrates brianf40us Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 01-11-2009 12:02 PM
Nitrates?'s jake6986 Nano Reefs 4 01-01-2009 07:04 PM
Nitrates chipchop Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 45 03-14-2008 09:24 PM
Nitrates! lando Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 08-15-2004 03:46 PM
High Nitrates And the Best way to lower Nitrates Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 11-29-2003 07:40 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.