Nitrates Help Please!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

KyleBeard

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi, I have a 15 gal column tank. I have 15 pounds of rock and a live sand. I go to my local saltwater store and get water for the tank. I add the salt myself.
So I have a problem with my tank. I am new to saltwater so I want to make sure I am doing it correctly. I had a problem with my nitrite ammonia and nitrate a while back and was able to get help on this forum that corrected everything but the Nitrate. I just tested my tank and the ammonia is at 0 the HP is at 8.0 and the Nitrite is at 0. Nitrates are horrible still reading 160 ppm. I am using the API Saltwater Master Test Kit. I have had the tank running for about 7 months now and about 2 months ago asked how to fix my system since it was not cycling.

I was told to get a dead fish and add it to the tank to get it to cycle. It did fantastic and everything cycled and when I took out the fish I did a 5 gal water change. That was 2 months ago. Everything is reading perfect except for the Nitrates. I cannot get them to go down.

I know in fresh water adding plants will drop the nitrates, I am wondering if I can add any kind of anemones or something that would help my nitrates?

When you cycle a tank, you are completing the bacteria for the nitrate cycle. Nitrates won't go away on their own. Water changes are the best way to do this, which is especially easy in such a small tank.
But, after 2 months it is very likely your tank will need cycled again if the bacteria haven't had an ammonia source to feed on.

Have you tested the water before you add it to the tank?

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Nitrates will go away on their own, you just don't have the right amount of Live Rock in the system for the bacteria to grow to get rid of them.