Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-10-2008, 08:33 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurt_Nelson View Post
I'm guessing you tested your friend's nitrates with the same test kit you're using?
You got it! I though I put that in my post, but I omitted it...sorry. I will pick up a test kit today and retest...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurt_Nelson View Post
Your DI resin is probably shot and should be replaced. The DI should bring that number down to 0.
I replaced the DI resin on Monday. The funny thing is that ever since I got the RO/DI, the TDS reading has always been 3, or at least it has never been 0. I have had the RO/DI for about 2 years now.
__________________

__________________
180 gal LR wannabe Reef
mfuchs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 11:30 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
The DI resin should strip it down to 0. While 3 really isn't a big deal, it sounds like maybe the TDS meter is a little out of calibration since you just replaced the DI resin.

Dumb question... you DO have the RO tubes hooked up correctly... right? Just thought I'd ask because every once in a while there's a person that has the waste line going into their DI stage and is draining out the good water. That gives you pure water for a real short time, but really blows through DI resin fast!
__________________

__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 11:40 AM   #13
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
How are you testing the tds? I normally start with a new plastic cup and fill that with just enough RODI water to get a reading on the meter. Last time I used a cup that looked new but was not fresh out of the bag. TDS was 25. I rinsed it with my RODI water and tested it again. It was 5. I rinsed again and the third test was 0. Just throwing that out as a possible cause for getting 3 tds on your RODI test.

Your tap water at 140 tds is very good. Mine ranges from 185 - 215.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 04:55 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurt_Nelson View Post
Dumb question... you DO have the RO tubes hooked up correctly... right?
No, I do know that they are connected correctly. Mainly because the RODI water that comes from the resin is a slow drip, while the waste water is more of a steady stream(but not a lot of water - just noticable more than the other.) I also just connected a RO flush kit two nights ago and confirmed it was connected correctly. But it never hurts to ask or double check because we all make mistakes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmor1701d View Post
How are you testing the tds?
My RO/DI has a in-line meter. It has a sensor at the input (source) line before it enters the prefilter and another one at the line from the DI canister to my reservoir. There is a unit that I turn on and then select a switch that looks at the in and out sensors and displays the results.
__________________
180 gal LR wannabe Reef
mfuchs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 07:46 PM   #15
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Have you contacted the manufacturer of the RODI unit to ask about the reading. Do you have the instruction manual, and if so does it tell you how to calibrate the meter?
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nitrates, ro/di

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are water changes still necessary if Nitrates are low? Dekz Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 2 05-21-2009 04:01 AM
Tap water Nitrates loneranger Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 03-06-2009 07:58 AM
nitrates in rodi water ckmn101 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 06-11-2007 08:29 PM
Nitrates in tap water! Andos99 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 12-19-2006 03:42 AM
water changes with zero nitrates? KLN Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 02-16-2004 09:36 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.