Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-23-2013, 01:22 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
emmam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
nitrates VERY high

Hello my nitrates are very very high. Ive done water changes and it wnt get any lower. What else can I do?

Nearly 8 weeks ago my fish died from ich. I dnt want to put ne new fish into my tank if this is going to hurt them.
__________________

__________________
emmam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 01:32 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Shane87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: England
Posts: 590
When was the last time you cleaned the filter and vacuumed the gravel? Also what is your tank size and stock?
__________________

__________________
Shane87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 01:40 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
emmam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
The only filter I have is my live rock.ive not vaccumed the sand how do I do that?
My rank is 180litre
Ive no fish thry died nearly 8 weeks back due to ich.
I have 2 cleaner shrimp, 2 mexican turbo, 1 turbo snail, 2 emerald crabs and 2 hermits.

Im a bit worri3d I know somethings not right my shrimp havnt shed their skin in a while.

Im quite new to marine so its a bit strange to get used to so thank you for any advice
__________________
emmam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 01:46 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Shane87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: England
Posts: 590
I'm don't know a great deal about marine set ups but It sounds to me that your having something called die off which I think is something to do with your LR but idk how to fix it as for the sand you have to stir it up and then the debris lays on top because its lighter and you hold the syphon hose about an inch away from the substrate and it picks it up (don't worry if you pick up a little sand it can't be helped) apart from that I don't know I hope someone with more experience can chime in and help.
__________________
Shane87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 02:03 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Dude1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleethorpes uk
Posts: 372
It would help us if we had more info on tank specs, equipment and water perameters.
What's your:
Temp
Salinity
Ph
Ammonia
Nitrite
Nitrate
Calcium
Magnesium

I would get a decent skimmer to go on your tank too !
__________________
Dude1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 02:18 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
emmam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Smile

I have a tunzee doc nano skimmer 9002
Hydor pump -flow rate 4000
Filter is live rock

Ph 8.0
Ammonia 0.25ppm
Nitrite 0ppm
Nitrate 20 to 40ppm
Salinity 1.024
Temp is 25 celcius

Notsure of magnesium or calcium.
__________________
emmam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 05:02 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shane87 View Post
as for the sand you have to stir it up and then the debris lays on top because its lighter and you hold the syphon hose about an inch away from the substrate and it picks it up .
Do not do this. Last thing you want to do in marine tank is stir up your sand bed too much. Depending on depth and age of sand bed and if you have any sand sifters you could nuke your tank.
If you have a shallow sand bed just use a standard gravel vac and put it in the sand directly. Pinch the tubing off before sand enters the tubing to prevent sucking up the sand.
If you have a deep sand bed some say don't touch it at all and others say vac small sections at a time on different days or weeks.

What are you using to test your parameters?
__________________
Dav3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 05:42 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
emmam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Ive been using test kits to do my ammonia, nitrite, nitrate and ph.
I use a hydrometer to test my salinity.

I wudnt say my sand bed is thick.
__________________
emmam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 07:18 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by emmam View Post
Ive been using test kits to do my ammonia, nitrite, nitrate and ph.
I use a hydrometer to test my salinity.

I wudnt say my sand bed is thick.
Which test kits?
__________________
Dav3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 07:27 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
emmam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Api test kits
__________________

__________________
emmam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nitrates

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.