Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 11-20-2005, 10:02 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
Nitrite cycling question

Okay, so I'm a total newbie, but I've been reading up here and have been following up well....

My question is: How long will it be before I see my Nitrite levels start to go down? I've had my tank running for two weeks and have finally seen my amonia level go down to nearly 0 my nitrite level is nearly at 10ppm though.

Here are some stats on my tank:

80gal, 1.022 sp grv., 78 deg F, 25lbs lr, 4-5inch ls base, two one inch yellow belly damsels.

My Ph is 8.2 and my Nitrate levels are only 5ppm

I'm running a marineland 330bio wheel, Tetra 30 HOT, and a Prizm Pro Skimmer.

Thanks for your help

kml23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2005, 11:13 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
do you have liverock in ur tank??? are you using the damels too cycle your tank because if you are i wouldnt think 2 would be enough, i cycled my 29 gallon with 4 damsels.... last time i did my 55 gallon with only 1 and i thought it cycled only to find out it didnt when i put other fish in and i was told 1 damsel isnt enought to get the ammonia level high enough when its cycling.

29 gallon saltwater "reef tank", 10 lbs crushed coral, 40 lbs aruglive sand, two percula clowns, one firefish,cleaner shrimp, blue legg hermits, 25 pounds fiji live rock, penguin 350 biowheel filter, prism delux hang on protien skimmer, maxijet 1200 powerhead, 125watt ebo jager heater, regular floresent lamp.
mattt6511 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2005, 11:40 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
Send a message via AIM to DragonForce