Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-08-2014, 01:56 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Willba200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 355
NITRITE spike

I got my water tested earlier and they told me my nitrite is 0.1. My tank is 5 months old. Last week I moved some rock about so I could clean some cyno off the sand. I have one clown and hardly ever feed. Will my nitrite come back down to 0. Not long after water change I got it tested. My test kit is reading 0. Any advice on this. They gave me some balls which is supposed to be full of good bacteria.
__________________

__________________
Willba200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 06:50 PM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,532
The nitrite will go down to 0, but it will just become more nitrates. Since you are having a cyano issue, you are also having an unknown nitrate issue. There is something else going on in your tank that is feeding the cyano and most likely the low nitrite reading you caught.
What kind of water are you using for water changes and top off?
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 07:03 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Willba200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 355
I always use r.o . Nitrate is at 20ppm and my cyno is getting under control . The test I use shows up 0 nitrite. My clowns are doing fine. Is 0.1 deadly?
__________________
Willba200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 07:08 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Willba200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 355
I hardly ever feed, lights are on for 6hours per day and flow is up. Other then that what else can I do about the cyno? I say I have it under control but every time I do a water change I am siphoning the substrate.(only off the top) starting to get hacked off with this hobby!! If it's not one thing it's another. Your thoughts on this are welcolme lol
__________________
Willba200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 07:57 PM   #5
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,532
It is a balancing act. If you are gaining headway on the issue, then keep going. The plan is in place. I have some minor cyano in my tank right not too. It happens sometimes. As long as you work to address the issue, you'll be fine. Same with this minor nitrite reading, if it was even a true reading. Wouldn't be worried.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 11:51 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
lstimpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 197
Nitrates don't need to be 0, unless you're keeping fussy sps.
__________________
lstimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 05:46 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Willba200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 355
Many thanks
__________________
Willba200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 10:02 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Frankie_Garcia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 603
Cyano I thought is from phosphates. Obviously you don't have a bioload issue, or over feed. It could be flow, and if so you could even throw a bag of phosguard in and that solves the problem with a PWC
__________________
Frankie_Garcia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 11:30 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Willba200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 355
NITRITE spike

I am adding another power head to my tank. I have also ordered a digital timer which can run all three. I'm thinking if all three are on timers and running at different times or altogether this may also help? Going to post a picture and see what you guys think.
__________________
Willba200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 11:34 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Willba200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 355
I just have the two power heads either side as you can see.Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1391960032.893574.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	207.1 KB
ID:	221612
__________________

__________________
Willba200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nitrite, spike

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help amo. spike nitrite spike but nitrate went to zero bmw325cic Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 1 03-03-2011 12:07 AM
Wow! Nitrite spike! gfink Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 11-29-2004 01:04 PM
amonia/nitrite spike Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 03-30-2004 12:08 AM
Nitrite spike?? clownfish Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 02-25-2004 07:53 PM
Nitrite spike...Ammonia 0 Allivymar help!! :) stew Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 11-13-2003 04:39 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.