Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-26-2003, 06:32 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 168
No filter

In a post a while back I believe I saw Reefrunner(not %100 sure it was him) say that he has no filter in his tank, but instead relied on an abundance of live rock for filtration.

Is this correct? Is this possible? What exactly would be needed in order to accomplish such a set up? I would assume a DSB, lots of live rock, and at least one PH.

Thanks,
Karl
__________________

__________________
karlseith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2003, 06:52 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Quote:
In a post a while back I believe I saw Reefrunner(not %100 sure it was him) say that he has no filter in his tank, but instead relied on an abundance of live rock for filtration.
It may or maynot have been me posting, but that is pretty much the way I run my tank. Filtration consists of LR, skimmer a Shallow SandBed and a refugium with a DSB.

Check >>this<< for a few more details.
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2003, 06:55 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 643
Send a message via MSN to possum Send a message via Yahoo to possum
Could i get away with using an aquaclear filter to filter my 125? i dont really wanna set up a sump because that would just be that much more to dissassemble when it comes time to move. I will def have a DSB and LR. And a skimmer.
__________________
possum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2003, 06:56 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 643
Send a message via MSN to possum Send a message via Yahoo to possum
the filter i have says it is rated for up to a 150 gallon tank.
__________________
possum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2003, 06:58 PM   #5
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You could get away with that. The AC filter will give you a place to put GAC every now and then.. It will also supplement the flow in the tank... I would suggest at least 1250 gph flow in the tank though, so, powerheads are going to be needed....
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2003, 07:00 PM   #6
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
P.S. to last posting,

I do not have any mechanical filtration either except a skimmer once a month....and the occassional use of GAC. LR, LS, and Mother Nature all the way...Oh yeah, I do I guess because of the UV light...
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2003, 07:02 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 643
Send a message via MSN to possum Send a message via Yahoo to possum
my skimmer is only rated for use in a 60 gallon tank. Would it be good enough for use in a 125? LOL
__________________
possum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2003, 07:07 PM   #8
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Prolly get a little over worked. But may work until you are able to get another one matched for size..I would even go for one a little larger than recommended..
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canister filter vs. HOB filter for a planted tank fort384 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 11 02-02-2009 01:09 AM
are Wet/dry filter & Mini-Reef Filter the same thing?? Bubble_B0y Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 08-26-2005 04:02 PM
Does Micron Filter Pad work well with HOB filter? ahboy22 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 08-08-2005 09:41 PM
How to filter 200 gal. Would pond filter work? arowanaman420 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-28-2005 11:05 PM
Small Internal power filter as a secondary filter chasgood General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 06-17-2004 01:24 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.