no more LFS for me.....

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dr.Nate

Aquarium Advice Freak
Well, I haven't been to my LFS in a long time because they never have anything I really want, their prices are way too high, and their advice is horrible. I have been ordering everything but salt online for the last 2 or 3 months.

Well, I was bored yesterday and went to Petco....all their fish had ich really bad....particularly a powder blue tang....looked like he was on his last leg...really sad.

Then I went to the other mom and pop LFS in town that is better than Petco. I was talking to the lady there who usually helps me and I thought you might enjoy hearing some of her comments as we talked about ich and other things about my 55 gal.

1. "If a fish has ich in any tank, then somebody is harrassing somebody in there"
2. "You could easily put a lemonpeel tang in a 55 gal....when he gets big, just buy a bigger tank"
3. "Damsels are not aggressive and are very ich resistant....try a neon blue damsel"
4. "You shouldn't keep ordering fish online, you never know how healthy or sick they are...when are you gonna learn?!?!"

Then she realized I wasn't gonna buy anything from her and she left me alone. Needless to say, that will be my last visit there. No more curiously going over to see what they have. It seems like they continually contradict everything I read on here and it just frustrates me, so I'm done with them.

sorry to rant.....

That's too bad, and quite typical of Petco. I actually have a very local LFS (freshwater only) that is quite good and knowledgable especially for being very small and super-mom-n-pop.