Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-02-2006, 10:15 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 295
No Refugium

I really would like to set up a fuge but have very limited space. Is there any reason why I couldn't (shouldn't) just put a ball of Cheato in my display tank to help consume nutrients?
__________________

__________________
46 gal FOWLR
11lb Live Rock - 40lb Live Sand
ProClear Pro 75 - LR rubble & skimmer in sump
AC 300 HOB
AC 402 Powerhead - AC 301 Powerhead
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2006, 10:36 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
How big is your sump?
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2006, 11:40 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Aesthetically, I can't imagine it looking good. Chaeto will get stringy and you will have a hard time making it look nice IMO. Nothing says you can't though. You could always do a hang on fuge. Nothing says you have to have a fuge but they are a nice filtration addition.
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2006, 11:49 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Doesn't that work better in a "spinner" (sorry, can't remember the name), and will need to be trimmed?
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 02:19 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
loyalrogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Posts: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellisz
Aesthetically, I can't imagine it looking good. Chaeto will get stringy and you will have a hard time making it look nice IMO. Nothing says you can't though. You could always do a hang on fuge. Nothing says you have to have a fuge but they are a nice filtration addition.
Actually I have done just that in some of my tanks and it hasn't looked bad or stringy at all.
I got the idea after seeing a little 1gal nanocube that had had a couple of different macroalgaes in it at the LFS and it looked pretty nice and even a little more "natural".
I just took a ball of cheato and lightly wedged it in some rocks near the back of the tank.
It has stayed in a pretty compact shape and several critters have taken to nibbling on it from time to time.
It certainly looks better than the aquarium that I put an in-tank fuge... now that is butt-ugly.
Of course an HOB fuge doesn't take too much room and it gives you extra space for some LS or rubble, but you'd probably need to add some lighting if you want to get the most out of it.
__________________
loyalrogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 08:25 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 295
Quote:
How big is your sump?
No sump really - On my 46gal display I am running a ProClear Pro 75 wet/dry with bio balls and sponges removed. Main compartment has about 10lbs of LR rubble in it. No room for macro algae.

I'm actually sorry that I bought the wet/dry but it works well for the LR, heaters and probes. I would rather have put a fuge in the base of the cabinet.

I could squeeze an 18" HOB fuge between the rear of the tank and the wall if I have too. Will this require a pump that hangs into the display? I hate putting unnatural looking equiptment in the display. That's one reason why I bought the wet/dry in the first place.
__________________

__________________
46 gal FOWLR
11lb Live Rock - 40lb Live Sand
ProClear Pro 75 - LR rubble & skimmer in sump
AC 300 HOB
AC 402 Powerhead - AC 301 Powerhead
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
refugium

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saltwater Refugium or Non-Refugium Sump eatsomepopcorn General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 16 02-08-2010 10:55 PM
Refugium? drillsar Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 06-16-2006 11:41 AM
Refugium Lemonsong General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 04-19-2006 08:21 PM
Refugium jmjead Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 07-08-2004 10:35 PM
Refugium? Maybe or maybe not flamron Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 12-31-2003 02:06 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.