Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-17-2006, 03:04 PM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Since you change out your GAC twice a month that shouldn’t have any affect on algae. Not changing it can lead to higher no3 levels which you don’t have so personally I wouldn’t take it out of the filter since carbon helps remove DOC which leads to algae in the first place.

I clean the glass weekly and since I upped my flow to 1200 gph in my 55 I’ve noticed less algae.

With 0 no3/po4 you shouldn’t need to change out your cc.

It could be cyano. Do you know what your dkh level is? Does the lawnmower blenny touch it at all?

The one bio-ball shouldn’t affect anything but why just the one?

Everything else is right on the money ie: uv filter, skimmer, & ro\di water. You didn’t mention your lighting schedule, exactly how many hermits/snails you have, or whether your tank is near a window though.
__________________

__________________
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 05:20 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: TX
Posts: 477
dkh was the only thing that I hadn't checked in awhile, and when I checked it about a week ago, it was like 3 or 4 (I flipped). So I've been slowly rasing it and now it's at 8. PH is 8.0 to 8.3

Bio-wheel, not bio ball! That one was my mistake. The reason for only one is that I have a hang on emperor filter on my sump and the 400 was too big to fit down there. (the 280 only has one biowheel)

I have cut my light schedule back to 5 or 6 hours this week....I used to run them 10-12 hours.

My tank is not near a window.

I would love to hear more people say my CC is okay.
__________________

__________________
Dr.Nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 07:06 PM   #13
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Very high levels of dkh can lead to algae issues which is why I asked. 8 is not “very high”. I’d hate to guess what your ca levels are with dkh that low. cc gets a bad rap because a lot of people let it go and don’t siphon it enough. I’m old school myself but still use sand mostly because I like the look better than cc.

Sorry, running out of ideas. You sir are just determined to get algae it looks like. Hopefully the lighting schedule will help.
__________________
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 07:21 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
I had some algae show up last week on my sand. It was not nearly as visible just looking at the tank as it was with the camera. I did a 200gal WC Sunday and it is disappearing. I would suggest more frequent WC's to remove nutrients from the water. Just make sure your water source is clean.
__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 07:26 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Panama City Beach, FL
Posts: 547
How old is your tank? It could just be going through a cycle.

Mine did about three cycles where I had major "bad" or "nuisance" algae growth. The sad part is that it did not stop happening until I stopped messing with the tank. I have not really messed with my tank is about six months. The only “nuisance” algae I have are green bubble algae, but I have an emerald crab that keeps it under some control.

On this website, I see people who have tanks that look really healthy and squared away. Mine looks like a forest! I have major amounts of macro algae and corals everywhere. I could always purchase a fish that would eat culurpa, I just never have. If you desire a tank that doesn’t have a lot of natural growth (like what I see when I go diving) than you are going to always be messing with your tank. But that is just my opinion… take it or leave it.
__________________
JPloman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 09:10 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: at my computer
Posts: 38
I know I've read in the past about certain GAC releasing phosphates into the water, don't remember the brands. Try this rinse the new GAC in a bucket before you put it in your tank, then test the water in the bucket for phosphates, It's worth a shot next time your do for a change.
__________________
jabber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 09:55 AM   #17
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Typically it’s often the cheaper “off brands” that can leach excessive phosphate due to the poor quality of the GAC. All carbons contain small traces of phosphate but the higher quality brands have near undetectable levels. I use Seachem Matrix Carbon & PhosGuard and have never had a po4 problem or excessive algae problem.

It’s not to fair to test the dust water (which would increase the po4/ph level) since most experienced aquarist rinse the carbon before adding to their filtration system. That’s usually a mistake you only make once

po4 leaching often takes days/weeks and simply testing the water after rinsing should not show any po4 levels.

The brand you use could very well have small traces of po4 but since your tank is testing 0 for po4 it’s probably very limited.

Since DOC is a big contributing factor to algae and since you do change it out every two weeks I still wouldn’t remove one of the components of removing the DOC along with your skimmer. You may have to switch brands depending on your po4 reading but the added benefit of GAC outweighs any disadvantages IMO.
__________________
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 11:38 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: TX
Posts: 477
Thanks for all the advice everyone! Well, it's been two or three days, and the algae has not come back....yea! I know it's much better because usually after a day or two of siphoning it off the substrate and doing a PWC, I'd see it start coming back.

I believe ultimately it was phosphates. They always read zero, but the algae was absorbing it so it could not be tested. I believe a combo of chemi-clean (twice), many PWC's, and a phosphate sponge have done it.

Now hopefully it won't come back! Thanks all.....
__________________
Dr.Nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 11:54 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Charlotte, N.C.
Posts: 67
I would definitely say increase the flow. What is your lighting schedule?
Some carbons have been known to leech trates and po4 back into the tank. Just because your test reads "0" does not mean that you have no trates or po4 because it is being used up so quickly to feed the algae. But if you have algae, it's there(since the tank isn't in direct sunlight).
DITCH THE BIO-WHEEL! That thing is a haven for nitrates. Test your water before mixing it and post the results.
Up the snails/crabs count. Turbos are great algae eaters, but they release a lot of "poop" back into the water column. Cerith snails will help keep the sand bed stirred up.
How often do you empty the skimmer's collection cup?
Also, check to see that the frozen foods you are feeding do not have gelbinder. If they do, then make sure you thaw them out on a piece of paper towel before feeding.
And yes, these battles will always be fought in this hobby...Until someone creates the algae cure-all!
__________________
chineseknife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 12:35 PM   #20
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Glad you got it under control. Also I’ve been using the Bio-Wheel myself for over 8 years without any no3 problems. As long as you keep up on your maintenance it’s really not an issue. I use it to transfer to my qt tank for “instant” bio filtration.
__________________

__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae, long

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I know, long time no post, sorry all... papa_bear_21 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 15 07-22-2008 12:33 PM
Couple of questions (long post) jcarlilesiu Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 03-01-2006 10:49 AM
Well, its here. Long post Meredith New Acquisitions 10 04-17-2005 12:23 AM
O. Clown Question... Long Post bound_for_obx Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 12-10-2004 04:20 PM
Time to euthanize? (long post) blorkiemom Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 14 12-01-2004 07:15 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.