Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-10-2005, 08:15 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Central Coast California
Posts: 37
OK, now my brain hurts . . .

So, I am sitting in front of my tank last night.
Just watching life pass by.

I have a 75 gal + 20 gal sump = 95 gal system.

I have 145# of LR, so 1.933 lbs/gallon in the tank.

Now I know that water weighs 8.34#/gal fresh and 8.6#/gal for saltwater (depending on temperture, etc. but this is close enough for us).

I know the weight of the rock but the density varies so I cannot calculate how many gallons are taken up by the LR.

SO now I guess I gotta unload a few big chunks and check how much space it takes up so that I can calculate the density SO I can estimate exactly how many gallons of water I have in the system. NOT 95 but How Many? One has to know!

Also I am wondering why I thought about this in the first place.

?????????

My head hurts . . .

8O
__________________

__________________
Rockcrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2005, 08:33 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: rockport, massachusetts
Posts: 547
Quote:
Also I am wondering why I thought about this in the first place.
Not that critical!! Why does one have to know?
__________________

__________________
Diane
dianeww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2005, 10:04 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ballinafad Ont. Canada
Posts: 133
After loading my dry tank with rock, I measured how much water it took to fill. I wanted to see how much water the rock displaced. This only works the first time you set up.
__________________
Fireworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 12:04 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Central Coast California
Posts: 37
Well the reason I was wondering is -

Everything you add to the water is based on how many gallons you are adding it to.
If you add chemicals to raise calc or alk or whatever you add for how many gallons.
With a large quantity of LR (I have 145 lbs of LR in a 75+20=95 gallon system) The rock displaces water to a large extent.

I am going to try weighing some of my rock to get at least an estimation of how many gallons I have lost.

I am thinking I have lost in the neighborhood of 35-40 gallons of water capacity, that has been displaced by LR. That can have a significate impact on dosing.

I am dosing a 60 gallon system instead of 95 gallons.

What do y'all think ????

__________________
Rockcrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 01:09 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: So-Cal
Posts: 640
Well, first, the water displacement is a function of the rock's volume not its density. Weighing the rock will get you nowhere.

Fireworks has the best solution. If you MUST know then:
1. fill a container large enough to hold all the rock in question to the very top edge.
2. Have a catch basin underneath to catch ALL the overflow.
3. Slowly place the rock into the container - the displacement will cause the water to spill.
4. After the rock has been submerged, measure the resulting spill. This will be the exact volume of the rock introduced and therefore the precise water volume displaced.

Seems like a lot of work for negligible info. You could probably "eyeball" the approximate volumetric displacement and come within 10%-20% of actual.
__________________
55 gallon
dual 175 MH w/ dual 32W PC Actinics
75# LR
runway1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 01:47 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Monterrey, Mexico
Posts: 113
I'd treat/supplement for 75 gallons
__________________
Homero Cuellar
hcuellart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 04:07 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
I wouldn't worry about getting that exact.

the easiest way to measure how much your substrate it taking up, 231 cubic inches in a gallon. measure width, length and dept and subract your substrate volume from total volume.

If your tank has been set up for a while, and has fish etc in it, I wouldn't disturb the LR unnessisarily for this. Just ball park it. You shouldn't be adjusting any water parameters that drastically anyway, so being off by 5 or 10 gallons when determining how much to dose, shouldn't be an issue.
__________________

__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hurt

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My new Brain fijiwigi New Acquisitions 16 04-09-2008 03:28 PM
My angel looks like it hurts! workfortheman Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 13 11-23-2005 02:33 AM
brain macman7010 Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 2 01-26-2005 09:57 AM
Look at my brain! jamal-188 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 08-12-2004 08:54 PM
tiger bard hurts!!! (pic) leesanhua Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 2 10-05-2003 04:25 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.