Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-30-2006, 09:14 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rockford, IL.
Posts: 331
okay stumped

alright I am trying to raise my ph. I premixed 2 gal. of water last night got evrything including ph where it needs to be. this morning got up and checked it and the ph has dropped again. I found a article on the net that said too much aeration can cause ph to drop. I had a powerhead in the bucket could that have caused it to drop?
__________________

__________________
swjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 09:16 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,224
Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
no....ph is always lower in the morning after the lights have been off. Lack of surface agitation can cause it to drop. too much is not going to cause it to drop.
__________________

__________________
Hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 09:28 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rockford, IL.
Posts: 331
alright how can I get my ph up in my tank no matter what I do I will get it right and the 24 hours later it drops back down to 7.8. any ideas?
__________________
swjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 09:31 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,224
Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
how much surface agitation is there? how well does the water move/churn at the top?
What are the rest of your test readings, especially the alk?
__________________
Hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 09:36 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rockford, IL.
Posts: 331
I have alot of surface movement I have a powerhead that I point upward and then the filter. the surface is always churning. I went and bought an alk. test yesterday and it took me 10 drops = to 5.0 meg/L. calcium I tested yesterday said 410 ppm.
__________________
swjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 09:38 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,224
Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
I would suggest taking ph readings a few nights in a row, without any additives, and see what readings you get.
__________________
Hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 09:43 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rockford, IL.
Posts: 331
I had tested for about 5 days and no change. friday I added a little super buffer and it brought it up to 8.0 and then the next day it was back down again. I premixed some saltwater in a bucket and got all my levels where I need them to be and the same thing happened everything else stayed the same but ph dropped. confusing me royally
__________________
swjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2006, 01:19 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Posts: 801
Send a message via AIM to FishFrik
What salt are you using? Maybe the new SW is lowering your PH? I've heard people having low PH problem w/ some specific brand of salt
__________________
I'm one of those fishnutz, who are actually nutz.
FishFrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2006, 10:05 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
IME it depends on the lid you have. If you have a covered tank, there is not enough gas exchange. You could have all the surface agitation but not enough gas exchange. I used to have a lid and could not get my pH above 7.6/8. I removed the lid (when I upgraded my lights) and the pH jumped to around 8.2ish (I have trouble reading my pH test).
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2006, 10:34 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rockford, IL.
Posts: 331
I am currently using IO. remember I switched to Oceanic for a while but I didnt see any difference and I didnt like the way it mixed. I have tried taking my hood completely off for about 4 days and tried another powerhead and nothinhg.
__________________

__________________
swjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'm sort of stumped. partypalooza5 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 12-22-2009 11:42 PM
Name that deficiency! Stumped. 7Enigma Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 45 06-13-2006 11:29 PM
I'm Stumped Wizzard~Of~Ozz Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 02-13-2006 09:16 AM
stumped, need help. reefbound Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 01-29-2006 06:08 PM
Completely Stumped!!! treenab Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 6 11-14-2003 08:25 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.