Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-23-2003, 10:56 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 36
Overfiltering.

I have a 50 gallon Fish only with Live rock. About 9 inches of fish and about 30 lbs of Live Rock. I believe I'm overfiltering. I have a Emp 400 and Mag 350 pro connected to it right now. The guy at LFS tells me overfiltering is bad and promotes algae growth. Is it true? Is it good or bad to over filter?
__________________

__________________
Infinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2003, 11:14 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
Overfiltering? That's a new one on me. Possibly what he was talking about was the nitrates that will be added to the water due to the biological filtration from the filters? That is possible I suppose. Are you running Bio Wheels on the Mag 350? If so, you might remove them and just use the 350 for circulation. If you could add some more rock, you could probably do away with the bio wheels altogether.
Are you having an algae problem?
Have you checked the nitrate levels?
Are you using RO/DI water and, if not, have you checked for phosphate?
You're about maxed out on the fish load so it may require some extra effort to keep these levels in check.
__________________

__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2003, 02:18 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 36
No, I don't use the Bio wheel as it doesn't fit. Since I have the protein skimmer, emp 400 etc etc. No room left. When I upgrade later next year to a 125 gallon, I'll use the bio wheel. The Emp 400's Biowheels and the LR are doing all the biological filtering. I have the magnum setup with nitrate and phospate sponge, also the extra cartridges in the emp contain the nitrate sponge stuff. No I'm not using RO/DI water. I just treat the water to neaturalize the chlorine and other chemicals. I have yet to invest in a RO unit...since this whole hobby is taking quite a toll on my bank account. The Ammonia, Nitrites are at 0. PH is 8.3, Nitrates are at a 15-20ppm. It has a little calcium and I haven't tested for phosphates. However, I am having a slight algae problem. Perhaps it's due to the fact that I had lost power a few days ago due to hurricane isabel an the tank didn't have power for about 3 days. The water was dirty so I did a 20% water change and put in the water polishing cartridge into the magnum when power returned. But I do have a slight algae problem. I have this dark green algae covering the LR. It's pretty much like a flat except has tiny hairs sticking off and moving in the current. THe substrate does too. However the glass doesn't have algae on it at all.
__________________
Infinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2003, 03:54 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
Hmm...I'd probably try to scrub the algae off the rock first. Take the rocks out and do it in a rubbermaid container if you can. Then try to get the nitrates down to 10 or less if possible and keep them there. Depending on what kind of fish you have, you might also be able to add some herbivorous inverts...snails, hermits, ect...
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overfiltering a planted tank Satsumas Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 11-05-2006 01:14 PM
Overfiltering Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 15 02-13-2006 08:49 PM
Overfiltering? In some cases, yes fish_4_all Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 09-15-2005 11:09 AM
Overfiltering mobiusnu Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 09-11-2005 05:48 PM
Dangers of overfiltering? JBFett Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 05-16-2004 03:44 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.