Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-23-2004, 03:40 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 754
The photographed dual c-siphon could work, but the grey pipes on the outside-tank side need to be HIGHER than the level of the siphon pipes on the BOTH sides.

The grey pipes can NOT be directly connected to the siphon pipes.

You can't tell how high those grey pipes are, or whether they are connected to the siphons because the foam obscures that point. A picture without the foam would be more helpful to people.

I tend to agree with Firefighter here...that siphon looks like it will break if there is a power failure.

Connecting a PH to the top of the siphon tubes ensures the siphon can restart, even from dry. It doesn't matter where the ph is. It is usually convenient to put the ph in the tank because it is so close. When the ph removes air, it spits it into the tank.....so the alternative is to put the ph in the sump. That should work, but the air line is likely to be longer and there might be a reduction in the suction that the ph produces.
__________________

__________________
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2004, 09:13 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 426
Actually, a U-tube should not ever lose syphon if both ends of the tube remain under water, and that is how they are designed.The end of the tube in the overflow section is about an inch below the slots so that even when no water is flowing into the box, the tube is under water. As for the drain section, the end of the U-tube is under water below the level of the drain tube, so even when the level gets too low to drain the end of the tube is in the water. As for restarts, when the water starts to enter the overflow box section agian, it creates positive pressure pushing up on the water. As that pressure increases just a little, the syphon starts itself back up and the water level in the drain section gets high enough to start flowing again. So if set up correctly, the U-tube is actaully more reliable since there is no powerhead to fail and physics makes it work. As for the noise, that is usually a function of using tubing that is too small for the amount of water flowing. Larger tubes let water flow faster and quiter. Just my thoughts on the matter - guess which overflow I have?
__________________

__________________
Hook'em Horns!
MadManMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2004, 09:28 AM   #13
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
Posts: 1,783
The CPR units are good but you just have to make sure the pump is always on. If the pump stops the unit can eventually break its own siphon.
__________________
captivereefs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2004, 04:32 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: kenosha wisconsin
Posts: 653
still not sure which one. i like the idea of the u-tube not requiring anything more than mother nature to work. they are also way cheaper . i understand the tube needing to be below the slots. this would also seem to keep air out as well

still debating, thanks for the input

wait ! i just came up with the answer! i will just get 65 gallon i have been eyeballing with the built in overflow! what a great idea............................. i wish!

steve r
__________________
75g RR. 2x250 14k MH / 2x54 T5 act. 29g sump. ASM G1X skimmer. phosban reactor. 80lbs LS, 90lbs LR, 2x seio M620.
kole tang, bicolor angel, mandarin dragonette, ocellaris clown / BTA , cleaner shrimp, 2x peppermint shrimp, a variety of soft, SPS, and LPS corals, orange linckia star.
steve r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2004, 08:52 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 754
The physics behind a CPR C-siphon and a U-tube siphon are exactly the same. They are both pipes going into overflow chambers on both sides. Both designs restart on their own, without powerhead assistance because of the basic design described in excellent detail by Madman.

...provided they were running before the power failure. To get them going from completely dry, you have to remove all the air from the siphon tube. With a CPR, you have the ph to do it for you. With U-tube, there are lots of ways, but they are all sort of "manual".

So I think the issue is one of reliability and dependability. I think that all siphons have the possibility of accumulating small air bubbles which can collect at the highest point of the siphon. If these bubbles accumulate enough, they will stop the siphon action.

It is possible that the CPR siphons tend to trap more air bubbles than the U-tubes....(something to do with the square shape of the tube vs. a smooth curve, maybe?) Nevertheless, it seems possible to me that a U-tube siphon can accumulate air, just as a CPR can.

...but I sleep better knowing that the CPR/PH combination will always restart the siphon, whether I'm there or not. I don't care if there is air in the siphon or not...It doesn't concern me since I know it will be automatically sucked out.
__________________
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2004, 12:28 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: kenosha wisconsin
Posts: 653
what pump do you use? the air lifter pump or the rio setup. i just bought the CS90 CPR overflow. i guess the 65 gal. reef ready wasnt a possible solution

steve r
__________________
75g RR. 2x250 14k MH / 2x54 T5 act. 29g sump. ASM G1X skimmer. phosban reactor. 80lbs LS, 90lbs LR, 2x seio M620.
kole tang, bicolor angel, mandarin dragonette, ocellaris clown / BTA , cleaner shrimp, 2x peppermint shrimp, a variety of soft, SPS, and LPS corals, orange linckia star.
steve r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2004, 12:45 AM   #17
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
Posts: 1,783
use a rio 800 RVT venturi pump or a maxi jet with the venturi kit.
__________________
captivereefs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2004, 11:33 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Flint,Texas
Posts: 84
Use a Lifereef U-tube overflow box and fit a Dursoe (the miniature one that is designed to fit in such boxes).

It will NEVER fail, it will ALWAYS re-start faultlessly after a power outage. It need cleaning out about once every visit of Haley's comet (!) and is as quiet as the grave!
Costs a lttle more than others but, hey, what price avoiding a flood and fish/coral deaths, eh?

Just my 2c.

Andy.
__________________
AndySmithers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2004, 12:55 PM   #19
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
IMO, as long as they are set up properly, they will both function as advertised. They will both be quiet, they will both restart after a power failure. Which one is "Better" is purely a matter of opinion.

IMO, the the CPR adds another avenue of failure. The air tube and PH to collect air bubbles is one more thing that can go wrong. If the airline developes a leak it will then introduce air to your syphon and break it. Or if the PH fails then it can also cause an issue with your syphon. As I said, just opions, so decide which you're more comfortable with and rest assured that either will work fine as long as they are properly set up.

and yes, the pictured overflow will not maintain a syphon. likely even WITH the power on. It is not set up correctly. the ends of the U tube needs to be below the top of the grey tube both inside and outside of the tank.
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2004, 02:43 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 754
Mine runs a RIO600RVT.

I always thought about this ph as an added level of security, more than an additional liability....food for thought, that one..

I just reconnected this PH to the same power source that drives the automatic replenishment. Now the RIO600RVT only runs during water top-off cycles, (which is about 1/2 the time). It has randomized my tank water flow quite a bit.

The tank seems quite calm when the PH is not running.
__________________

__________________
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow, overflow box

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overflow box help ares General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 01-26-2010 06:28 PM
overflow box... help! mike3epanda General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 07-29-2007 02:28 PM
Overflow box triggerman888 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 01-02-2007 04:05 PM
HOB overflow Box Vs. Internal overflow box FishFrik Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 09-10-2006 12:36 AM
Overflow box qhrisnd General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 08-29-2005 07:02 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.