Overflow box help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ChiTownRomeo

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hey guys I really really wanna add a sump to my aquarium. Only problem is it's a 7 year old reef and the tank isn't drilled. tired of cleaning this canister every weekend. I really wanna add a sump but too scared of the horror stories of overflows and destroyed floors. I'm on the 4th floor and the ONLY thing holding me back from getting a sump is the fear of it overflowing in a power outtage. Any advice you guys can give?

You are very limited without drilling you could however run a basic syphon system that will simply loop over just make sure you drill a syphon break hole :)

I've never used an overflow box before but ive got a DIY PVC overflow. It's very low profile and ultra quiet, it doesn't disturb us at all in the living room. It's cheap and easy to setup and as long as you setup he overflow and the sump properly you won't have to worry about flooding if either the overflow or return pump fail.

Where most people have issues is that they don't leave enough room in either the DT or Sump to hold extra water should something fail. In my setup I have 10gallons of room to work with in the sump. Which may not seem like a lot but there isn't any possibility that my overflow would allow more water to drain if the return stopped working.