Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-13-2014, 04:19 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 765
What about the new eshopps? I have one I'm about to start up. It looks like the tube will remain in water if a power out happens. If mine were to fail. I'll have almost 100 gallons on my floor.......
__________________

__________________
JJ-MIK is offline  
Old 06-13-2014, 04:27 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,233
Again, just match pump flow after headloss to rated flow of overflow. Get as close as you can or go oversized a bit with the pump and just dial it back a bit.

Just need to keep the air bubbles from building in the tube. Get flow fast enough and it will flush any bubbles out.
__________________

__________________
Dav3 is offline  
Old 06-15-2014, 01:35 AM   #23
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 160
I have an overflow with a nipple for a piece of airline hose. The first time I set it up I sucked the air out and put the hose into the water. Never needed to "reprime" it since. I live in fl and our lights go out daily.

The people doubting Dave really should min their own business.Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1402806827.015101.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	130.3 KB
ID:	240439Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1402806864.974433.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	135.1 KB
ID:	240440
__________________
Swicicki is offline  
Old 06-15-2014, 11:11 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 562
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swicicki View Post
I have an overflow with a nipple for a piece of airline hose. The first time I set it up I sucked the air out and put the hose into the water. Never needed to "reprime" it since. I live in fl and our lights go out daily.
So one end of hose is on the nipple and the other end of the hose goes where? Inside the tank down near the bottom floor? Sorry if this is a dumb question because I didn't buy my overflow box yet and the physics of it is still somewhat mysterious to me.
__________________
mattcham is offline  
Old 06-15-2014, 01:36 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 160
It's in the water next to the box. Just to keep air from going in. Would be the same if there was a clamp on the hose.

In defense of the doubters I have had other other systems where I needed a pump to keep the siphon.
__________________
Swicicki is offline  
Old 06-15-2014, 01:59 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 562
Swicicki is your box a CPR brand or similar mechanics? TY.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
mattcham is offline  
Old 06-15-2014, 02:28 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Nor cal
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dav3 View Post
Again, just match pump flow after headloss to rated flow of overflow. Get as close as you can or go oversized a bit with the pump and just dial it back a bit. Just need to keep the air bubbles from building in the tube. Get flow fast enough and it will flush any bubbles out.
You have a drilled tank? Because everything I have read about HOB overflows require a aqua lifter for when power goes out and need to get siphon going again.
__________________
Crobb is offline  
Old 06-15-2014, 03:15 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 160
My box is square and blue and I do t know the brand. It does not use a siphon tube. It is one solid piece. Has a tube tapped into it for a aqua pump or power head air line. (See pictures above) However I have not needed to use anything. Any bubbles that get into the unit flow right down out of the "u" section.

I suppose if my flow rate was lower there would not be enough velocity to flush the bubbles.



The glow thru the unit
__________________
Swicicki is offline  
Old 06-15-2014, 03:16 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 160
Unusual words brought to you by iPhone sorry
__________________
Swicicki is offline  
Old 06-15-2014, 06:01 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,233
No not drilled. I have hob with similar mechanics to cpr overflow.

The mechanics are simple (to me).

Part 1: If the siphon tube/section has a a nipple for a airline hose then you just need to seal it. Easiest is put some airline hose on it with a check valve($1 @ walmart) on the other end of the airline hose. This will prevent air from interning the siphon through the nipple and thus preventing siphon loss in the event of power failure.

Part 2: you need to match return flow (after headloss) to the rated flow of your overflow. If you have enough flow going through the siphon any air bubbles that enter the siphon will get flushed out. If not enough flow then the air bubbles will accumulate enough to form an air pocket and break siphon.

Part 3: If your return pump is undersized or you don't have the right sized plumbing( more on this next) for your return lines then you will not have enough flow and you will need the aqua lifter to suck the air out.

Part 4: Plumbing has to be big enough to maximize the flow from your return pump. Mag 7 for instance has a .5" threaded output but you need to at least double that to 1" plumbing for maximum flow As per mag drive manufacturer instructions. You will need to look into plumbing sizes for your particular pump brand.
__________________

__________________
Dav3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
flow, overflow, overflow box, question, questions

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions about adding internal overflow box 93MSB General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 11-25-2013 06:29 PM
HOB overflow Box Vs. Internal overflow box FishFrik Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 09-10-2006 12:36 AM
Overflow Box Questions qhrisnd Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 08-29-2005 05:53 PM
Whats the difference between out box and sent box? Melody Forum Admin & Announcements 2 05-31-2005 12:53 PM
Overflow box questions rossmort Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 02-20-2004 06:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.