Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-22-2005, 12:03 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 287
Send a message via AIM to Rsquared333 Send a message via MSN to Rsquared333 Send a message via Yahoo to Rsquared333
overflow problem fixed?

From what I have read the major problem with sumps/fuges is that if there is a power outage or the siphon on the overflow breaks the return pump willl overflow the main tank. If I attach a float switch on the main tank to the power source of the return pump would that prevent me from draining my sump/fuge and overflowing my main tank in the case of a siphon break or power shortage?

I don't know if this has been thought of before (I assume it has) but I couldn't find any info on how to prevent this problem just warnings of it.

Would this work? any comments would help. thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
Build a man a fire and he will be warm for a day. Set a man on fire and he will be warm for the rest of his life.
Rsquared333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 12:06 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 287
Send a message via AIM to Rsquared333 Send a message via MSN to Rsquared333 Send a message via Yahoo to Rsquared333
any other problems with them that I might have overlooked? This has been the only damaging one I have heard of.
__________________

__________________
Build a man a fire and he will be warm for a day. Set a man on fire and he will be warm for the rest of his life.
Rsquared333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 01:56 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rocky Mount VA
Posts: 943
A power outage should not have any negative affects on the water level. The only problem is if the siphon is broken you will get flooded. I have my HOB overflow setup and test it regularly for simulated power outages and never had my siphon break. The float swtich would work but sure would be unsightly in the tank.
__________________
Vote for AquariumAdvice

28gal bowfront
40lbs livesand(bag from LFS), 30lbs live rock(LR.com)
2 O. Clowns
1 peppermint shrimp, 5 red leg hermit crabs,
4 mexican turbo snails, 15 nassarius snails
ricordea mushroom, candy cane coral,
super color polyps, hairy mushrooms
bubble coral, hawiian feather duster
coralife lunar 2x65, HOT magnum canister
10 Gal refugium(chaeto) & seaclone skimmer
RMPD109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 02:10 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 287
Send a message via AIM to Rsquared333 Send a message via MSN to Rsquared333 Send a message via Yahoo to Rsquared333
I know if the setup is proper this isn't a real problem but I just want to make sure. I over do things like that. I could hide the float switch in the back corner if I wanted I would take saftey over looks.
__________________
Build a man a fire and he will be warm for a day. Set a man on fire and he will be warm for the rest of his life.
Rsquared333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 02:53 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 438
How would the siphon not break if the power were out for more than 2-3 minutes? As soon as the siphon pulls the water level low enough it will have to break because the water level will be below the siphon.

This has been my one concern with my tank as well. I have heard of a small pump that you hook up to your overflow that will restart the siphon, but I have yet to find it online. As soon as I do, I will be purchasing it so I can feel a little better about leaving my house.

tripper
__________________
tripper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 03:38 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 287
Send a message via AIM to Rsquared333 Send a message via MSN to Rsquared333 Send a message via Yahoo to Rsquared333
that is my idea, when the siphon breaks while the power is out there will no longer be anywhere for excess water to go so when the return pump is restarted your main tank will overflow but if you put a float switch on the return pumps power source It will turn off before the main tank overflows and you can fix things when you get home, the water will just not be circulating for how everlong you are gone.
__________________
Build a man a fire and he will be warm for a day. Set a man on fire and he will be warm for the rest of his life.
Rsquared333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 03:40 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rocky Mount VA
Posts: 943
An overflow has two baskets. One in the tank and one outside. The internal basket will equal itself with the height of the outside basket when power goes out. The outside basket will retain water during power outage because the outflow pipe is about 3 1/2 or 4 inches tall so it will keep water at that level. As long as both sides of the U tube remain submerged the siphon wont wont break in the tube. Once the power returns the pump will fill the internal basket raising its water height. The outside basket will then raise as well starting the water to flow again to the sump/fuge. I hope this makes sense to you as I think I confused myself.
__________________
Vote for AquariumAdvice

28gal bowfront
40lbs livesand(bag from LFS), 30lbs live rock(LR.com)
2 O. Clowns
1 peppermint shrimp, 5 red leg hermit crabs,
4 mexican turbo snails, 15 nassarius snails
ricordea mushroom, candy cane coral,
super color polyps, hairy mushrooms
bubble coral, hawiian feather duster
coralife lunar 2x65, HOT magnum canister
10 Gal refugium(chaeto) & seaclone skimmer
RMPD109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 03:52 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 287
Send a message via AIM to Rsquared333 Send a message via MSN to Rsquared333 Send a message via Yahoo to Rsquared333
I see but I don't think the one I am getting has a u-tube or does it? here it is:

http://www.marinedepot.com/md_viewIt...product=CR1513
__________________
Build a man a fire and he will be warm for a day. Set a man on fire and he will be warm for the rest of his life.
Rsquared333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 03:55 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, California
Posts: 819
That is a different style... it has no u-tube, but the channel in the middle stays under water. Same concept, but no tube.

Those have the tendency to gather water pockets... so they usually need to be hooked up to the venturi valve of a PH to suck any air that collects in there. Some people think they fail more often than u-tubes, some like them better. Just preference.
__________________
~~Rob
RLG2182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 03:55 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 287
Send a message via AIM to Rsquared333 Send a message via MSN to Rsquared333 Send a message via Yahoo to Rsquared333
I think it uses a pump. This would eliminate my problem right? because when the power goes back on the overflow pump will start again too. so I wouldn't even need what I am talking about would i?
__________________

__________________
Build a man a fire and he will be warm for a day. Set a man on fire and he will be warm for the rest of his life.
Rsquared333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hope I fixed the Problem! Hellathafish Mid Atlantic & the Virginia's 17 08-13-2008 07:40 AM
Rena XP2 Noise Problem...Still not fixed Marconis General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 28 12-03-2007 03:29 PM
Overflow Problem macman7010 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 05-10-2006 05:02 PM
overflow problem reeling reefer General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 03-09-2006 02:06 PM
Overflow problem??? sonoma2nv General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 01-23-2006 10:04 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.