Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-06-2014, 05:53 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
acolotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 388
overflow/sump help

I am picking up a eshopps overflow box as well as there R-100 refugium/sump tomorrow. My question is what gph should i get, they have two sizes that i was looking at there is the 300gph and a 800gph. I posted a similar question recently but am not going to get a cpr as i can get the eshopps locally.

I have a 55 gallon mixed reef. My current equipment i have a reef octopus hob bh-1000, phosban 150, hob filter, and a jebao wp25 powerhead running on W1 S2 knob at about 50%. Also the return pump i ordered, Reef Octopus Diablo DC-3500, can push about 790 gph at a 4 foot head hight (at least based on there chart), but it comes with a controller so i can adjust it accordingly.

I believe in saltwater you want at least a 10x overturn, is this correct? So i guess is if i was to get the 800gph one would it be too much of a turn over? If this is too much could i actually push about 600-700gph out of this the 800 gph overflow?

Also i plan on keeping my hob skimmer until i can order the Reef Octopus Super Reef 1000-SS, would this be ok? My current skimmer is rated for up to 125 gallon and the eshopps R-100 holds about 20 gallons
__________________

__________________
acolotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 06:47 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
You are going to need to match your pump with your overflow box, and 800 gph is more than you have, so I would get something smaller than that, but I think 300 gph is a bit weak. CPR makes a 600 gph box. I was always partial to the overflow boxes that utilize an aqualifter pump anyway.
The turnover depends on what's in the sump. If you have a skimmer with a 500 gph pump on it, I would want at least 500 gph going through the sump so it's at peak efficiency.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 07:12 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
acolotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
You are going to need to match your pump with your overflow box, and 800 gph is more than you have, so I would get something smaller than that, but I think 300 gph is a bit weak. CPR makes a 600 gph box. I was always partial to the overflow boxes that utilize an aqualifter pump anyway.
The turnover depends on what's in the sump. If you have a skimmer with a 500 gph pump on it, I would want at least 500 gph going through the sump so it's at peak efficiency.
Yea I orginally was going to get the cpr 600 anyways, so ill prob just go ahead and order that. The skimmer i was looking at says the pump has a range of 100 to 130 gph, so would the 600 gph be ok with that, or should i be trying to match the skimmers pump? I just liked the eshopps because it restarts after an outage and no extra pump needed, but i do imagine the cpr would restart as long as i have the aqualifter on it at all time. Also I am pretty sure i can dial in the dc-3500 with the controller to match the 600gph and if not there is ball valves.

Also i plan on having my skimmer (eventually), heater, gfo and carbon reactor, and a refugium in the sump. Just planning on having a sand bed about a inch or two with macro algae and possibly a few snails/hermits to tidy it up a little and stir sand bed, and possibly some live rock rubble
__________________
acolotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 07:32 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
I second the opinion of getting a cpr overflow box. I used one for years on my 125g and it never failed once.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 07:40 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
acolotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by carey View Post
I second the opinion of getting a cpr overflow box. I used one for years on my 125g and it never failed once.
do you have the aqualifter pump on constantly? Do you have have the output line just go into your sump and is it a large amount of water it sucks out? Also when im setting up the return where should i put the check valve so i dont her a back siphon. Just about middle of the return piping?
__________________
acolotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 07:41 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
You can have more than the skimmers' needs going through the sump, but less would impede it's performance. As for the other reactors and such, as long as they aren't requiring more than 600 gph, you are good to go.
One more thing- In my opinion, it's counter productive to have anything in the refugium that eats algae or pods. So, a nassarius snail might be ok, but no algae eaters. If you do add a nassarius snail to the refugium sand bed, make sure you put some meaty foods in there every so often, as they are carnivores, and tiny particulate matter won't support them.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 07:43 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Quote:
Originally Posted by acolotto View Post
do you have the aqualifter pump on constantly? Do you have have the output line just go into your sump and is it a large amount of water it sucks out? Also when im setting up the return where should i put the check valve so i dont her a back siphon. Just about middle of the return piping?
Yes, it's always on, and generally, folks just drop the tiny drain line into the large side of the overflow box. It's not a large amount of water, but it's enough that you need to keep it in the system.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 07:44 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Quote:
Originally Posted by acolotto View Post
Also when im setting up the return where should i put the check valve so i dont her a back siphon. Just about middle of the return piping?
Just drill a small hole in the return line just under the water surface inside the display and you won't need a check valve.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 07:46 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
acolotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
You can have more than the skimmers' needs going through the sump, but less would impede it's performance. As for the other reactors and such, as long as they aren't requiring more than 600 gph, you are good to go.
One more thing- In my opinion, it's counter productive to have anything in the refugium that eats algae or pods. So, a nassarius snail might be ok, but no algae eaters. If you do add a nassarius snail to the refugium sand bed, make sure you put some meaty foods in there every so often, as they are carnivores, and tiny particulate matter won't support them.
That makes sense, I mostly just want something to sir the sand bed..Could i just skip sand bed, add live rock rubble and let macro algae sit on top of the rock rubble? or is there benefit of a sand bed in a refugium?

Also thank you for all the advice so far its really helping...ive been planning this sump/refugium for about a year and half its way overdo and im finally just gonna do it, instead of putting it off, to many positives im missing out on!
__________________
acolotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 08:01 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
You don't need a sand bed, but I think a lot of life ends up being in it if you have one. tiny critters make a home out of it.
You can also make a deep sand bed and get some nitrate reduction from it if done correctly.
Deep Sand Beds
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow, overflows, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overflow vs No Overflow tlkng1 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 06-21-2011 11:24 AM
Corner Overflow vs. Back Overflow BeaglesBuddy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 09-10-2010 12:21 PM
HOB overflow Box Vs. Internal overflow box FishFrik Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 09-10-2006 12:36 AM
help with hurricane overflow and mag 7 on my sump please mattt6511 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 02-13-2006 03:28 PM
To overflow or not to overflow... RLG2182 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 11 01-04-2005 02:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.