Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-01-2005, 01:42 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 658
Owww

I dropped my PC into my fuge this morning and got a nice little shock.... everything else seems to be ok though....got shocked more from the fixture than the water though.....

Anything I should check on the light before I plug it back in ?????
__________________

__________________
c0mf0rt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2005, 02:44 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
1. Make sure it is plugged into a GFCI circuit or buy one from HD.
2. Make sure it is completely dry before plugging it back in.
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 02:22 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: santa cruz california
Posts: 325
Send a message via AIM to foma2000
get all the salt off. rinse the exposed conections in distiled water then dry them off. pure water dosn't connect electricity, the salt and impurities do. so make sure to get all that salt off.
__________________
there once was a kid named colin. he looked just like a gorilla. his name wasn't magilla, because it was colin.
foma2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 02:48 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Athens, TN.
Posts: 3,598
Quote:
pure water dosn't connect electricity
? I thought it did. Are you positive about this?
__________________
Gerald

Vote for AquariumAdvice
dralarms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 02:53 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,012
I'm pretty sure he's correct on this. Not 100% sure put pretty sure
__________________
75 gal
4x65w PC
AquaC Remora Pro
140#s Live Rock from LiveRocks.com
Frogspawn, Hammer, Zoos, Leather Frag, and Xenia and Green Star Polyp frags from fishfreek and Alarmguy66, Thanks!
Member of the Unofficial A-Team
bound_for_obx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 02:58 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Athens, TN.
Posts: 3,598
So your telling me that if I take 2 perfectly clean jars, fill them with ro/di (as pure as we can get), and split an extension cord and drop it in that I won't get a reading from the water? I always thought that water was water and if you mess with electricity and water your in for a shock 8O
__________________
Gerald

Vote for AquariumAdvice
dralarms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 03:14 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: santa cruz california
Posts: 325
Send a message via AIM to foma2000
its not that it doesn't conduct electricity at all. but the water molicules ionize at a much slower rate then salt or other impurities will. so pure water is a very very poor conductor while salt water is a very very good one. if you wash the electrodes off with distilled water then dry them off very well to get all the salt off there will be a much smaller chance that there will be a short circuit
__________________
there once was a kid named colin. he looked just like a gorilla. his name wasn't magilla, because it was colin.
foma2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 04:14 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 658
Yeah I found that out this morning... zzzzzap
__________________
c0mf0rt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 08:03 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 582
Send a message via AIM to SeriousDude5
Uh it doesnt matter if pure water doesn't condust electricty I still would advise you not to test it out or else there will be one less member on this earth.
__________________
SeriousDude5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 09:30 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: santa cruz california
Posts: 325
Send a message via AIM to foma2000
the light will work just fine if you make shure all the electrodes are compleatly cleaned off and dry. but to be safe, make shure to plug it into a gfi socket.
__________________

__________________
there once was a kid named colin. he looked just like a gorilla. his name wasn't magilla, because it was colin.
foma2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.